We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food sucked”
Review of Stones Throw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stones Throw
Ranked #7 of 23 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We arrived about 10 :30 am we were mot allowed to use the room until 3 pm even though the unit was emptied at 11 am . even though we ate dinner there that night I had a seafood plate my wife had a shrimp dinner the scollops had bad taste the clams were sandy my wife's shrimp were over cooked to a point that they were like rubber. Other than that the room was clean except under the bed. the mattress was comfortable and the view of sunrise was beautiful .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Spent one night there. Room was expensive but so is all the lodging on the beach. Bed was very comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor and we loved the balcony. Nice to have refridge and freezer. We were allowed to park our car there at 11:00 am which was appreciated since there is very little parking at the beach. We then went to the beach until the room was ready. Our breakfast was just OK. Bathroom towels were the smallest i have ever had in any hotel so beware!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Excellent angus burger, wife had the turkey burger, also very good. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blinzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Could not possibly get closer to the ocean. All rooms at this Inn face the ocean - beautiful view with a patio to sit on and relax and enjoy the view. Spent the day at the beach with our 2 young children - water was extremely cold - which was fine because it caused our kids to only splash in the water and not want to go all the way in. Great free parking. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance. There was a little convenience store right next door - to purchase items needed. We consider ourselves lucky to have chosen this place when looking on line for a place to stay. Our room had 2 queen size beds - which was great when sleeping with children. The room was small, and the bathroom was extremely small, but it was very clean, bedding was white and fluffy comforters, bathroom could use some updating, had a refrigerator, coffee maker. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartPlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Rooms were clean except under the bed and the refrigerator has previous guest's leftovers in it. Staff are pleasant but need training in service, how to help guests and need to be empowered to address problems. "The manager's not here" "I dont' know". Staff are young and over their heads. You can hear staff and manager complaining about kitchen staff. Low battery on fire alarm went off during the night, no response. Curtains in rooms don't block light so be prepared to wake up at 5:30 from the sun. Also, they will kick you out of parking spot at 11 am so if you want to spend the day at the beach, move your vehicle very early in the morning. Picture does not show power lines in front of balcony. Beach is very, very crowded. Would not return again.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank DRL-555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Honestly, thank God the weather was gorgeous or we would have left immediately. We stayed here last year and had the BEST time, but lousy weather. Last year - clean rooms. This year - I swear someone had just slept on our bed and it wasn't clean at all. Last year - friendly people and delicious food (fancy for the beach, but tasty). This year - GROSS! They used to have a cute little bar, now they have expanded it and the crowd was young and drunk - and unfortunately so were all the people working there. INCLUDING the manager!!!! Won't go back, which is too bad because the location is great! :(

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank JimHuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I stayed at this Inn last year and it was great-- that is why we stayed there again this year. Unfortunately this time was a totally different experience. Room was filthy with sand all over the floor and dustballs under the bed. Barely could use the shower & sink as the faucets didn't work properly. To top it off, breakfast was disgusting and service was awful. The juice tasted like Tang, blueberry muffin tasted like sawdust & the coffee like dirt. All this for $16.00 and we could literally not eat it.
There are many beautiful hotels & motels in the area in the same very expensive price range so avoid this one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendamarsh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
4.2 mi away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#1 of 1 in Cape Neddick
863 reviews
1 mi away
ViewPoint
ViewPoint
#5 of 23 in York
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
804 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
415 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stones Throw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stones Throw

Address: 123 Long Beach Ave, 4 Morningside Dr, York, ME 03909-6551 (Formerly The 123 Restaurant & Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $107 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stones Throw 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Stones Throw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stones Throw York, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing