We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in York
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Price!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here with my BF & 2 other friends in Oct 2011 (only just started writing reviews!) while doing some shopping at the outlets. It was recommended to us by a friend who had been impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the price. We weren't disappointed! The price was extremely good, the rooms were decorated nicely and were very clean. We enjoyed the breakfast, especially the waffle station, among other choices. When we checked out we asked the woman at the front desk for directions, she went out of her way to help us and even printed off a google map for us!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newfie-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    452
    203
    92
    54
See reviews for
562
409
71
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We called last minute to get a room for the next night. They were accomodating and friendly. We got the room at a reasonable price (lower than any other in the area, with the AAA discount). My husband, 3 yr old daughter and I stayed in a 2 queen-sized bed room. It had a micro and refrigerator & small flat screen TV. The bathroom and room was very clean. We LOVED the pool, it was great for our little one. It was close to EVERYthing....York's Wild Kingdom, the beach, Perkins Cove in Ogunquit, Kittery shops. I would recommend. The only con was the continental b'fast that was included. You would've thought they were giving away golden donuts! It was SUPER crowded, with no tables to sit at 8am (our 1st trip down, decided we'd try at a later time) or at 9:15am. They were out of milk for the cereal & I asked a young employee for more.....he never returned (or at least not in the 20 minutes we were there), ran out of bagels and english muffins too. Oh well, we grabbed some yogurt & fruit and ate in the lobby area instead. Overall, this was perfect for us....a clean and affordable place to stay in one of our favorite areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a clean attractive place to stay. Since this was high season, I think they were a bit understaffed. As a a result, we didn't get clean towels until about 5 pm. Bed was very comfortable; staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check the internet for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WritingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, VT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hotel looked to be recently remodeled and was very clean. The room was nice, the beds were comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful when we had a problem with the TV and an accidental room mixup.

The price was very resonable and although it is not in a beautiful neighborhood it is only a ten minute drive to long sands beach and a 20 minute drive to short sands beach.

Breakfast was a standard continental breakfast with muffins, bagels, cereal, waffles etc. Nothing special but what I expected.

My two complaints are the coffee and the room lighting.

The rooms don't have coffee makers. Coffee is avaialbe in the lobby 24 hrs but is not that good. Thankfully the St. Joe's cafe one block down the street had excellent coffee.

The room lighting about the beds is WAY TOO BRIGHT. There are six 4 foot flourescent tubes with a decorative diffuser on the front but they are open on the bottom and all that light shines into your eyes while sitting on the beds. I suggest they remove the center set of lights and change the two side section to one lamp each and install a diffuser on the underside.

All in all a good stay, at a good price, and in a decent location. Would stay again...oh and the kids liked the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is my second time at this location, the first being 4 years ago. While the rooms are clean and comfortable (we stayed in a Queen suite) the carpet in the hallways are beginning to show its age (some stains). The suite has a small refrigerator, coffee pot and sink but no other amenities other than some paper cups and a couple of packs of coffee. The location is close to the interstate but you do not hear any traffic noises. However the walls are very thin and you can hear noises from adjoining rooms. The continental breakfast is fairly limited and if you plan to partake you should make sure you arrive early for best selection. We arrived in the last half hour and there were a couple of breakfast muffins, 3 English muffins and a couple of apples available. It appears they had provided boiled eggs but it appeared they did not plan to replenish so close to the end of the designated time. With its small indoor pool this is a good budget family hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Spent the last two days of a ten day New England trip at the Microtel Inn in York. We looked at hotels from Ogunquit to the NH border and the prices were so high. After reading the reviews, we decided on this hotel and were quite impressed. This is a newer property, the rooms were clean and well appointed - however a little "strange" compared to HI, Hilton, etc. The closet was an add on, there was nice kitchen faucet area with a huge amount of desk / shelving space that ran along the side and back wall. The internet was easy to use and fast, there were many cable channels to choose from. The hotel staff was very friendly and breakfast was included. I do prefer other types of lodging, but this hotel is well worth the price if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocean0808cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The week we traveled, almost everything in Wells and York was booked to capacity. We had booked a 'famous name' hotel in York for 2 nights NEXT DOOR to the Microtel, only to discover that almost every room in that 'other' hotel NEXT DOOR to the Microtel Inn smelled of mold and was musty. Beyond disgusting, there was no way we could sleep there for the night.

The staff at the Microtel Inn & Suites was SO accommodating. They were nearly booked themselves and were able to get us into a wonderful suite. Travelling with 2 older 'children', we (in the last minute) got a great room with 2 queen sized beds, free breakfast, a pleasant staff and a spacious bathroom (the bathroom in the 'other' place had a less than 24" width for a floor). The Microtel room had a bar with bar stools under it, a fridge, a microwave, a panel separating the two queen beds and even a foam padded window seat to read in (in addition to everything the room smelling clean and all the other perks).

The pool was nice and the hot tub was an added bonus (we did check out both). I know most hotels that offer free continental breakfasts usually have the big do-it-yourself waffle irons, but, this hotel had, by far, the best tasting waffle mix to put into that waffle iron! The dining area is not overly huge, especially to accommodate the rush of people who all come down at the last minute to eat before breakfast closes. However, the hotel staff rectifies this scenario by opening up a conference room for diners to eat at, which is adjacent to the breakfast area. So, it all worked out well (although, we kind of wanted to bring breakfast back to our 'bar' in the room and eat on the stools, just for the novelty of doing so!).

The room was very quiet, the beds were comfortable and staff was pleasant - - best of all, there was NO ODOR in our room!!

Oh, one other thing... my younger son had a brand new toothbrush which got ruined in his luggage when his cologne opened up by accident (starting our family vacation on a VERY SMELLY note!) My husband threw the toothbrush out after the cologne full doused the packaging. In our room, Microtel had a note that if you 'forgot anything', they will have it, free of charge (and listed the items)! On top of it being such a nice place, so clean (no mold smells either), the fact that the room was so much bigger that 'the place next door' & so much more 'like a home'; and the fact that we were so lucky to have gotten what we did, especially under the circumstances... with all of that, once I told my son that they even have a free toothbrush for him waiting at the main desk - - he immediately asked if the hotel was 'owned by Jesus'? (because, he said, no one else could have allowed all the 'good things' to happen that did... after the 'bad situation' we were almost 'stuck' with).

I know there are comments here about 'stains' on the rugs, honestly, my husband and I were talking - with all of these hotels at or near 100% most of the summer, I am sure it is hard to have enough 'downtime' to replace the carpeting or get a good washing on the bulk of the rooms. Sadly, it is the occupants of the room who spill and stain the carpets. That's why we ate downstairs, because we don't eat or drink over our own carpets at home (so we don't stain our carpets at home either). I am sure if there were stains, that they would not be there for long. The place is pretty clean...

Microtel Inn & Suites in York, Maine saved our family vacation... for that, we are grateful.

Room Tip: The hotel is set further back from the main road (Route 1), thus, every room should be a good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_from_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
2.1 mi away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
733 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
391 reviews
3.8 mi away
Union Bluff Hotel
Union Bluff Hotel
#2 of 9 in York Beach
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western York Inn
3.5 mi away
Lighthouse Inn and Carriage House
2.7 mi away
Anchorage Inn
Anchorage Inn
#3 of 9 in York Beach
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York
Address: 6 Market Place Dr, York, ME 03909-1680
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites York Hotel York
Microtel Inn And Suites York
Microtel Hotel York
York Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham York Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing