We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Chineese fast Food - Great when you have the craving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Taste

China Taste
Ranked #28 of 37 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Yarmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Typical Chineese fast Food - Great when you have the craving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a great take-out place I like that it is local to me. The menu choices are quite big for a small place like this but the combination plates are a little restrictive - i am always making a substitution as I can never find just the combinaiton of items I want. The Wonton soup is good. There are tables in the restaurant but the dining area gets no stars in my book . but for Take Out this place does very well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    3
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth, Maine
1 review
“Better than before.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

The food here is not great, but has definitely improved in the last few months. It is a family run business and I think they try hard to satisfy their customers. For quick basic Chinese take out, it is acceptable food and reasonably priced. My family and I have never gotten sick from their food! We take out fairly often, so I feel comfortable that the food is not as bad as some of the other reviewers have indicated. I am a vegetarian, and I love their family style bean curd.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ejc123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not good ...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We are Chinese so we were looking for euthenic Chinese food, but it was definitely not good food for us. But we really think it's not even good North American Chinese food. The flavor wasn't great and my friend found a hair in her dish. She got the meal for free but still, would never go back.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank MilesInaDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
1 review
“This place is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

I have visited almost every Chinese restaurant within 15 miles of Portland and found this place to be the best. The sweet and sour sauce is nice and red. As with all Chinese not all of it's perfect but if go with traditional like Lo Mein, Sweet & Sour chicken, fried rice you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's not that bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

I'm a local who gets an occasional lunch or PuPu platter. Bottom line is that the food is basic Americanized - probably mostly frozen deep-fried appetizer shopping mall-type "Chinese" food. That being said, the lunches are a good value and I think are tasty, as an unhealthy treat once in a while.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VTXMatt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Taste also viewed

 

Been to China Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing