We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bow 2 Stern - Shipshape”

Muddy Rudder Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Muddy Rudder Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Price range: $1 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Owner Matthew Witham are proud and excited to invite you to The Muddy Rudder Restaurant. Matt's vision of providing guests with exceptional food, coupled with impeccable service, has materialized on the picturesque coastline of Maine.
Milford Square
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bow 2 Stern - Shipshape”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

2nd stop at this spot just south of Freeport. Service is good, knowledgeable, and the food is prepared well. I had steak both times, and it was cooked perfectly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rinchen-Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    160
    92
    50
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Better than Pat's, but nowhere near Gather”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I had a good hamburger and glass of wine from a good wine list, but the dessert and salad were not up to standard.

Some interesting sounding entrees, but I did not want to be dissapointed.

I will probably be back for prime rib night, though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not so muddy at the rudder!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Enjoyable relaxing evening after a business trip. We didn't expect restaurant tobe as large from the outside. It was busy for a Friday evening with different size parties throughout. Everyone seemed to be enjoying their dinners. Portions were size able. The table next to us ordered the prime rib and it covered the whole plate! I had the lobster bisque and the Harvest salad. For a New England bisque, it was not as heavy or creamy as most. Had a touch of sherry in the bisque broth and very large pieces of lobster. Husband had the Frenh onion soup in a large crock. We both enjoyed our soups. Waitress recommended the salad I had and it was delicious...a combo field greens, candied walnuts, onions, etc in a light balsamic dressing. Husband had th Caesar with chicken on top. It was sufficient for both of us since it was after 8 pm and we didn't want to eat large. Staff was very pleasant and restaurant manager as well as desk attendant both thanked us for coming. Lovely lounge seating made for comfortable conversation areas when we were leaving.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Common elegance”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

What you would think to be a restaurant that you have to dress up for, it isn't. Actually casual dress (even jeans) gets you through the door of this nice restaurant. The atmosphere is refined and the food well-priced, plentiful and filling. The staff was very accommodating. The service was there when you needed it. It could have been a little brighter which would not disrupt the ambience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-sensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The food here is over-priced and only average in quality. Wait staff, although friendly for the most part, seldom smile and have no personality. I've been here to eat over a dozen times hoping for some improvement but have not seen any. There are much better restaurants in Freeport, only a couple miles away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Durham_native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muddy Rudder Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Muddy Rudder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing