We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner”

Royal River Grillhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Royal River Grillhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kennebunk, ME
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a great dinner with friends there a couple of weeks ago. We did it all, from drinks, to apps, to salads and entrees. We started off with the Ahi tuna tartare (excellent). Then we tried three different salads including the farmers salad, warm beet salad and the poached pear salad. All were excellent and great portions. For entrees, we had the hangar steak (cooked perfectly), the haddock and the pork chop. The service was good, and the atmosphere nice. We would love to visit during the summer when we could look out onto the river. The restaurant has an open kitchen concept and has an upscale (the prices and the food-make it more upscale) but casual atmosphere at night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    95
    36
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“My go to spot!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Always leave happy, great menu good people and excellent food. Atmosphere is excellent , best mussels and haddock! Fresh and clean!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bouceaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Royal River Grillhouse-terrific!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My husband and I have eaten there 3 times in the past year; most recently last week. The service is excellent and the menu items change seasonally. The crab cakes are excellent and my husband loves the duck and the steaks. Food is always presented in a timely fashion and just the way you requested. If you go on a Tuesday or Thursday, not as crowded and you get a real treat. Lovely singer and great piano player. It's super busy on weekends; particularly during tourist season so be sure to make a reservation. This is not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heather1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“excellent food and view”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a birthday dinner here the other night. The restaurant has a lovely view of
The river going to the sea where I have once seen seals basking on rocks..not this evening, though. We had a nice house red wine,hangar steak....perfectly cooked and so tender you could cost cut with a fork, and outstanding creme broule. This is a local place for us but I would recommend to anyone looking for a water view dining experience. The service was good, too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMVSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
132 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I ate lunch at RRGH this past Sunday and enjoyed it. The chowder was very tasty and my salad with haddock was good but was a little bland and could have used more dressing. Overall, good service and a decent to good meal.

Helpful?
Thank Dakaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal River Grillhouse also viewed

 

Been to Royal River Grillhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing