We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!”

Le Garage Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Full service, casual restaurant overlooking the Sheepscot River
Hooksett NH
Level Contributor
229 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Wiscasset while visiting the mid coast area. We had dinner two evenings at this location. The setting is beautiful--right on the Sheepscott River, so try to get a window view. The service both nights was excellent; responsive, very courteous and pleasant. The food comes from local farms/waters and and is prepared very nicely. The seafood is great. You won't be disappointed here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    74
    41
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in the Midcoast of Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We've been dining at Le Garage for years, and did so again recently. It's always worth the drive, no matter how far you're driving from! The views of the water and boats, the food and wine, the staff, and atmosphere are all impeccable.

In fact, I can never understand why people will wait outdoors 45 minutes in line a block away on congested Route 1 in Wiscasset for a lobster roll when you can be sitting on the quiet porch at LeGarage enjoying a lobster roll or one of many other wonderful Maine dishes with local ingredients.

A few highlights include warm homemade fresh bread, weekly themed specials featuring local ingredients, a kids menu that will keep any child happy through the trip home, and a wide selection of great wines. Recently we dined during LeGarage's Blueberry Week, and thoroughly loved the blueberry halibut, blueberry-themed salad, blueberry smoothie (made with soy), and of course, blueberry pie! Cheryl, Chef Michael, and the staff are friendly and professional.

Dining at LeGarage is a family treat that we look forward to enjoying for many years to come!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineacFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
292 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Views, Service and Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have lunch here every time we visit Wiscasset. This was about our sixth or seventh visit. The tab for three diners was just about sixty bucks without tip. The large Caesar salad with anchovies (12 total) was fresh, correctly seasoned with fresh anchovies and croutons. The lobster roll was fresh meat, light mayo in a grilled hot dog bun and was excellent. It was (?) Blueberry Week, one of our party had blueberry risotto with brie while the other had a Blueberry Chicken Waldorf salad both of which were excellent. Service is fast and friendly and the views of the river are wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaysideConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgecomb, Maine
1 review
“"You win some, you lose some" sous chef”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Quote from the sous chef as I was describing the lousy service and "Halibut" dinner. Living here and patronizing this restaurant for fifteen years, Le Garage has been a pillar in the community, always an example of good food and good service. Would recommend it to everyone. Never a bad night. The exception was one bad bottle of wine several years ago that we refused. This was followed by a phone call a few days later by the manager with sincere apologies and restitution. Tonight was another example of the ever increasing disappointment encountered at restaurants these days. It was an epic failure. The sous chef (the manager available at the time) could only say "You win some you lose some" Skip it next time you're in town. Le Garage you should be ashamed... Nothing more needs to be said

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the 180 Mile Round Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our first visit to Le Garage was with people who were already familiar with it. We were greeted and seated immediately at a table in the back overlooking the river. Although it was an unsettled, warm day, the wall unit mounted near the ceiling kept the temperature pleasant and the sir circulating. Goblets of ice water arrived immediately. The meal order was taken within a reasonable amount of time. One of the special appetizers on that day was a rarebit with pancetta and mushroom. It was excellent. The main courses were also carefully and tastefully prepared. Service was attentive and water goblets were refilled promptly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Garage Restaurant also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Le Garage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing