We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable, helpful - just the job!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiscasset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Wiscasset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable, helpful - just the job!”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Snow Squall which exceeded our high expectations. We were greeted by Paul the friendly and helpful owner who ensured that our bags were carried up the rather steep stairs (he offered to bring them down when we left too, but I was too quick for him!).
The room was spacious and comfortable and the 5 - yes five - windows ensured that it was light and airy.
Breakfast was superb. Every morning something different and all mouthwatering and spectacular. The ham, cheese and onion scones have to be tasted to be believed.
The whole experience was made all the more special by hosts Paul and Melanie. Each evening Paul had checked out the predicted weather for the following day and suggested trips that would make the most of the day. As a result we had three lovely days touring in the sun and had planned shopping for the one day it rained in Biblical fashion! There is no doubt that our days in the area were hugely enhanced by the advice we got from Paul and Melanie. One of the days we got up very early to go to Acadia - we expected to buy breakfast on the road, but despite being down an hour and a quarter before breakfasts began, Paul still managed to feed us.
Our stay was an absolute delight and we're looking forward to the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balnamoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
112
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

What a great place! My 12 yo daughter loved the loft in our room, king beds up and down. The room (Windward) was spacious with lots of windows. I slept like a rock...

Melanie was very kind to us when we arrived early, soaked from an all day driving rain. She brought us tea and scones and helped us dry out while our room was being prepped.

Breakfast was very good, and the town is charming. Snow Squall was a great find.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcpurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We had a very pleasant 3-night stay at the Snow Squall and used the location as a base to visit the Boothbay Harbor, Pemaquid and Wiscasset area. Our hosts, Melanie and Paul, were very welcoming from the moment we arrived and they especially enjoyed having our son (age 17mths) as a guest. The breakfasts were outstanding, and the hosts were very accommodating to special dietary needs. Although our room (Windward) did not have a fridge, the hosts kept our food in their fridge for us. The only other downside to our room was the very small bathroom with a very very tiny stall shower and no bathtub. It was difficult washing our toddler in that space. Otherwise, the room was lovely and spacious, with a large loft area where our son slept. The inn is faces Main Street, so you might want earplugs if you are sensitive to street noise (although it wasn't very noisy at night). My husband and I enjoyed taking advantage of the on-site spa and had fabulous 90-minute massages. We would definitely return to the Snow Squall, although would request a room with a bathtub, especially for small children.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8Outdrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

This was definitely the best B&B we've ever stayed at--in fact, we really can't imagine how to make it better. One issue with many B&Bs is a lack of professionalism, but the Snow Squall Inn nailed it--everything was very well-run and smooth, while retaining the personal touch of a B&B.

First of all, the rooms are lovely and very comfortable. No lumpy beds to be found--the space felt luxurious and comfortable and was a great bargain for what we were paying. The decor was tasteful and attractive. Only comment is that our room had a very small shower cabin, so if that bothers you, you may want to ask for a room with a tub when booking.

We also spent a fair amount of time in the common areas, which we don't normally do, but they were so pleasant--the verandah was a great spot to read, and the common living area was also very nice. We wished we could have stayed longer--I would have liked to have tried the yoga classes as well. Wiscasset was a good base from which to explore the area (despite a bit of traffic around Red's Eats).

The breakfasts were fantastic, as has been described by others. Not only is Paul, the innkeeper, an excellent chef, but he and Melanie are very friendly and wonderful hosts.

Lastly, this inn is a great value. When we got there and saw how perfect it was and all the attention to detail, we couldn't believe how low the rates were. I think the innkeepers could certainly get away with charging more, but I am glad they didn't!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxinos, PA
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was our first experience at a Bed an Breakfast, and we simply can not imagine anything better...Paul and Melanie were incredibly kind, helpful and personable. We truly did not want this experience to come to an end! We have been sharing praises of our time at the Snow Squall to friends & we thrilled to learn that one couple has already chosen to celebrate their anniversary there this fall!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LvnKnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

My husand and I started our trip here and ended it here. Paul and Melanie are gracious hosts. Their home and inn is charming. Paul is a fantastic chef so you can be assured that you will start you day with a full and satisfied tummy! Eggs Benedict one day and ham, cheese and mushroom omelet with a tarragon butter sauce the next! Homemade cream cheese biscuits and yogurt with wild Maine blueberries, it does not get much better than this.
The coffee was awesome too! The Defiance room is super, sitting room and rocking chairs on the porch. A perfect summer getaway. They offer yoga and massages also.
Kay and Ted
New Orleans

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPreferFirstClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loerrach
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Definitely one of the best places to stay along the East Coast. We had a wonderful stay with Melanie and Paul. The Bed and breakfast is perfectly located for trips to Arcadia NP. Having enjoyed the breakfast once you wish you could stay forever.
Paul is English and he is doing the cooking - expect the best. The Hotel is spotless clean and we will come back whenever we head up north again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EinRuheloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiscasset
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
10.1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
483 reviews
10.5 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
50 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast

Property: Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Bradford Rd, Wiscasset, ME 04578-4456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Wiscasset
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wiscasset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Snow Squall Bed And Breakfast Wiscasset, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing