We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to begin our tour of Maine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiscasset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Wiscasset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place to begin our tour of Maine”
Reviewed September 19, 2009

On our first trip to Maine, we were delighted to spend the first three nights with Paul and Melanie in this charming inn. They are such a gracious couple and Paul is a fantastic cook as well as a very entertaining storyteller. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the blueberry lemon scones and the eggs Benedict! The grounds were beautifully landscaped and our room was clean and spacious with a most comfortable bed. We look forward to returning to Snow Squall next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tealadydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
113
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We have stayed with Paul and Melanie twice. Once in September 2008, once in August 2009. We have found them to be kind, welcoming, and accommodating and they serve one heck of a breakfast. Paul's blueberry pancakes and scones are wonderful. Even his scrambled eggs beat anyone's. Wild Maine blueberries, fresh fruit, juice, cereal -- it's a very nice spread. They can give you ideas about places to visit, restaurants to try and other things to do or retail shops to visit. A very nice sitting room, access to a television in another sitting room, lovely porches and the grounds are beautifully planted and well manicured. Oh, and did I mention the little dishes of Dove chocolates here and there in the public spaces? In 2008 we stayed two nights in the Windward Suite and this year, we stayed one night in the Red Jacket Suite. While we found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable we did have situations arise which left us disappointed both times. In Sept. '08 when we arrived the air conditioner did not work. Fortunately it was a breezy night and we were able to cool the suite by opening windows and using fans. The next day Paul had the A/C repaired. This year, we arrived in the early evening and the air conditioner had cooled the lower level effectively but was not reaching the upper level. It had been a warm day and the upstairs was unbearable. Arriving back at the room after dinner with the heat upstairs apparently unchanged, we requested a large fan which we were provided. By 11PM the upstairs was still not cooled enough to sleep so we made a makeshift bed on the lower level floor and slept there. The upstairs room had cooled by morning. We spoke with Melanie and Paul about this situation. They were very apologetic and reduced the lodging fee appropriately. We like the convenience of the Inn. It is clean, quiet and comfortable and serves a wonderful breakfast as we have noted. We would probably consider staying there again, we'll just need to make sure we ask how our room is cooled before we arrive or consider staying in another room.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melaniemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

This is the best B&B we have ever stayed at. It definitely has spoiled us. Paul and Melanie are wonderful. The B&B is immaculate and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts are "top shelf gourmet". Paul is a great cook and an even better story teller and travel guide. He made our first trip to Maine a memorable one. We cannot wait to return. Thank you both for 3 wonderful days.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover, massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We're seasoned travellers and used to the best we can afford. The Inn stands up to any destination we've spent 35 years travelling to, and when it's coupled with great hosts and extraordinary breakfasts, there is nothing left to be desired. Great location, immaculate grounds, clean as a whistle, and helpful, engaging innkeepers make this a place not to be missed when going to the Maine coast. Bob Whidden, Andover, MA

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robitod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My mom and I took a trip to Maine this summer. We found this place online and booked it. We were not disappointed! Breakfast was fab every day and they were born to be innkeepers. Great personalities and advice on places to see nearby. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

My wife and I spent three comfortable and relaxing nights in this beautiful country inn in the "prettiest village in Maine". We woke to a gourmet breakfast each morning prepared and served by Paul and Melanie who are a combination of wit, humor, sweetness and congeniality. Their knowledge of the area directed us to a beautiful ocean beach, an impressive botanical garden and great dining choices especially the Newcastle Publick House in Darmiscotta.
Sure it was somewhat close to Route 1 but the trees, flowers and the grounds in general were enough distraction-an island of tranquility.
Owners of other B & B's whose reviews are not quite up to par would be wise to emulate what Melanie and Paul have created.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotiaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Five years into the business and proprietors Englishman Paul and Bostonian Melanie still manifest unmistakable pleasure in pampering their guests and helping them make the most of mid-coast Maine. The Golden Horn room in which we stayed was commodious, immaculate and charming; the breakfast delicious; and the recommended activities were, as Paul would say, "spot on!" Despite its name and it being fully booked, the Snow Sqaull was completely tranquil. The porch and grounds are wonderously manicured. If there be a drawback, it is the drone of traffic on adjacent Route 1 and the unsightly Citgo gas station across the way. I guess one shouldn't look for perfection this side of heaven.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayerweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiscasset
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
10.1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
10.5 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Squire Tarbox
Squire Tarbox
#2 of 4 in Wiscasset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast

Property: Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Bradford Rd, Wiscasset, ME 04578-4456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Wiscasset
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wiscasset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Snow Squall Bed And Breakfast Wiscasset, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing