We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect B&B experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiscasset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Wiscasset B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Perfect B&B experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful weekend we had at Snow Squall. All the reviews are true - lovely inn, lovely rooms, great food, and charming and friendly hosts, Paul and Melanie. We can't wait to go back. We've stayed at a number of B&B's and this was by far our best experience ever.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hillary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
112
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We could not have picked a better place to start our wedding trip and then end it. Paul and his wife were most accomodating. The first night we were exhausted from our flight from Missouri to Boston and then the drive. Paul settled us in and then suggested places to find something to eat.
The morning meal was almost too beautiful to eat. He then gave us suggestions of sites to visit to see on our drive to Camden and Rockland. The sites were breathtaking. After returning from our Windjammer cruise 4 days later, Paul knew we were exhausted and knew what we needed. That started with a hot shower, and a massage by his wife and a easy light evening meal. The next morning we hated to leave. We wish we had given our timeframe of travel another day and night to stay in the area just so we could have had another relaxing evening at Snow Squall B &B. We know we schedule another vacation around the Snow Squall B&B and recommend it to our friends and family. David and Shanna Johanning, Columbia Missouri

Room Tip: The two rooms in which we stayed were both lovely. One had a private bath in the room. The other o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding night, in the charming Golden Horn room. I would probably have given this B&B a 5-point rating if we had actually seen more of the site or eaten breakfast. Needless to say, our wedding party arrived at 1:30 a.m. and we missed breakfast later that morning. The co-owner, Paul, welcomed us as we dropped off our keys and simply put, his great attitude and generous spirit definitely made us want to stay there again and this time, enjoy the delicious breakfast our guests were raving about!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meduza1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a lovely B&B. We stayed in the Flying Eagle room which is very cosy and "woody" but nontheless ideal for a holiday break. It should be noted that access is via some narrowish stairs which could be a problem for some people but I'm sure that Paul would be there to help as he did for us.
Breakfast as prepared by Paul featured the most wonderful blueberry pancakes-if I had been offered more than one I wouldn't have refused! Also available were homemade scones (delicious), fruit, yoghurt and juice. If you spend long enough over your breakfast you will almost certainly be entertained by Paul's humorous tales and anecdotes-and very British sense of humour! Coffee is available around the clock on the ground floor and a nice touch is the bowl of Lindt chocolates at reception.
An indication of the helpfulness of the hosts is that Paul went out of his way to find some pain relieving gel for my wife to use for her sciatica for which she was most grateful.
This is undoubtedly somewhere that we would return to if we needed accommodation in the area again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Flying Eagle room which does have a very small shower which may be a challenge to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49-States-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Snow Squall Inn is a lovely, serene B&B in the sweet village of Wiscasset, Maine. My husband and I have been coming here for over five years and it is now the place we first think of coming when we look to "get away from it all." Paul is a true hostler, in the very traditional sense of the word. He is a great host, filled with suggestions for touring the area. He is a great cook, whipping up delicious breakfasts each morning. And, he is a wonderful raconteur, who can converse cogently on almost any subject. What a delight! His wife Melanie is a great Yoga teacher and I urge anyone visiting to try her classes which are run in the restored "barn". Together they provide their guests with an unsurpassed b&b experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new city ny
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Paul and Melanie run one of the best places we've ever stayed in. Their service, attention to detail, friendliness; everything about them is just first rate, as is the inn they run. Our room was huge and beautiful. The breakfast was delicious. I wish we could have stayed with them longer than one night so I could have availed myself of her massage therapist skills, but alas...
Don't hesitate to stay with them if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Jim and I recently stayed at the Inn and have the highest compliments to pay to Melanie and Paul. They are the most gracious hosts and work together successfully to make their guests feel totally at home. The breakfasts are unsurpassed as Paul is an outstanding chef and Melanie adds her charm by greeting guests and making them feel at home. You could not beat this Inn in any way and if you get into the area, be sure to stay here. Melanie's massages are among the best I have experienced so if you get here, be sure to sign up for one. All in all, one of the best Inn around!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolandjim733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiscasset
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
10.1 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
10.5 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
Squire Tarbox
Squire Tarbox
#2 of 4 in Wiscasset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast

Property: Snow Squall Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Bradford Rd, Wiscasset, ME 04578-4456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Wiscasset
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wiscasset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Snow Squall Bed And Breakfast Wiscasset, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing