We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobster Roll LIne”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red's Eats

Red's Eats
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lobster Roll LIne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Reds is duly famous for their very generous lobster roll (mayo or melted butter on the side). It is reputed to be a half pound of lobster meat in each roll and it is genuinely filling and satisfying. The downside is that fame has created very long lines. One can wait for over an hour to get to the window to place an order and then another ten to fifteen minutes for the order to come up. There is only one window, so the smiling person taking your order has to stop taking orders to dispense them as they are completed. This is the usual process in Maine but it does make the wait longer. For those who don't want to wait, there is Sprague's diagonally across the road. They have a slightly less generous lobster roll that is very good and also offer lobster dinners, steamers, and other Maine treats and they have parking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    218
    105
    39
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US native
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“People, this is a tiny shack.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Many recent reviews here are bizarre. This is not a white tablecloth dining experience. Red's is a street vendor on a city block corner. Keep your expectations in control and enjoy the food, fun in line, and smiling counter service. Lobster roll and haddock were GREAT! Would go back in a heartbeat. (yes, there 's no mayo on lobster roll - just pure, succulent, piled high lobster.)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SummerTripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Come on Monday in the pouring rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Short wait time, and the staff offered umbrellas to those waiting in line. Of course eating in the car meant spilling melted butter all over myself, but it was a small price to pay. This was the best of several lobster rolls on this trip to Maine, but really...would any sane person pay that much for cold lobster meat in a toasted roll? We did, so I suppose the answer is yes.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KCR119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
269 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Long wait, cold lobster”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

While on vacation we were told we HAD to come here for the best lobster roll in the world. Well, after waiting an hour, we ended up with an expensive lazy man lobster (the portions were big, though..lots of meat) stuffed on a roll with nothing but lobster (no mayo, celery, etc.) served cold. My husband dipped it in butter, but the pieces were huge so a little tough. We were very disappointed. I, however, had the fried shrimp and homemade onion rings...yum! That was the saving grace for this review, or I would have given it just 2 stars. If you really want a delicious lobster roll, go to Kennebunk!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, NH
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lobster Roll#3 Eat There or Take Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Driving to Maine, we passed this lobster shack in Wiscassett, but knew nothing about it. However, while in Rockland we heard enough to make it a point to stop there on the way home. The lobster roll was probably the best I've ever had. Nothing but lobster meat on the roll, and plenty of !! It was wrapped for the drive to carry home and packed with a large cup of ice for insurance , and to keep chilled. Also ordered a large onion ring for some nibbles in the car!! Even though the line is long( waited almost an hour after they opened up to get my roll) it was worth every bite of it!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's Eats also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Red's Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing