We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always fabulous ice cream!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lear's Ice Cream - CLOSED

Lear's Ice Cream
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Closed closed closed
Wiscasset, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Always fabulous ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This local spot in the shadow of Wiscasset's almost-too-famous Red's Eats is small but mighty, serving generous portions of delicious homemade ice cream in a long list of flavors--everything from lobster (ayuh!) to my personal addiction, coffee toffee chip. Legions of lucky locals plus visitors from everywhere beat a path to Lear's from May til the end of October.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

50 homemade flavors that are definitely different and great! They even have lobster ice cream (although I wasn't that daring)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NotURavgTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“' The best homemade ice-cream in Maine "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

What a sweet experience to have ice cream at Lear's. The husband and wife team are friendly and have a passion to serve only the freshest and healthy ice cream cutting no corners by adding preservatives. We went three times in our week visit to Wiscasset and know it won't be the last time.
Don't miss this place !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best ice cream around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

It is so nice to have found a wonderful place for ice cream in Wiscasset. Perfect spot after a lobster roll at Spragues. Lear's chocolate rivals the best! I took my sister and brother-in-law there for their anniversary. I am told that the vanilla is spectacular as well, but none of us dared to try the lobster flavor. Their chocolate sauce is devine too. The ice cream season is here! Give Lear's a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stormstownsadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lear's Ice Cream also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing