We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Squire Tarbox Inn - An Exceptional Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Squire Tarbox Inn

Squire Tarbox Inn
Ranked #11 of 30 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Cuisines: American, French, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Squire Tarbox Inn - An Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I'll keep this review brief and to the point, the point being that I believe the restaurant at The Squire Tarbox Inn should be experienced by everyone who enjoys truly exceptional food and superior service in a charming country setting. If all that doesn't appeal to you - stay away! Otherwise, book a dinner reservation - now. You will be so happy that you did.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiegoPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in a lovely Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Squire Tarbox Inn is a jewel of an Inn and Restaurant not far from Wiscasset, Maine. I did not spend the night in one of their rooms, but enjoyed a lovely dinner with another couple. From our reservation being changed 3 times, to a last minute request for a cake, the owners obliged and were pleasant each and every time we called. Mario, the Chef is handing over the reins to his daughter and she did not disappoint. Mario's son is an organic gardener and all the vegetables come from his garden.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gpage30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner on our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Pretty little restaurant, great service, impressive menu and just amazing scallops! Wish we didn't live so far away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
145 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great hidden jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have dined at this restaurant for many years. It is a special place hidden in the middle of one of the penninsulas with nothing else commercial around it. The daughter is now starting to take over the kitchen from the original chef. Slightly different styles, but same outstanding taste and quality. My favorite is the lamb chops, but we have also had crab cakes, fish of the day, and steaks. All meals and service have been some of the best we've had in Maine. Moderate to a little expensive, but well worth it for a special Maine dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
“Beautiful Family Run Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The squire tarbox inn is located on an idyllic farm on Wesport Island/Wiscasset. My fiance and I had a great time walking through their woods, eating wild blueberries on their farm, and relaxing on their porch. There's a complimentary breakfast with homemade jams and breads and pastries, as well as eggs from their own chickens. There's a rooster, but it doesn't crow at all, ever.

The hospitality is really top notch. Roni, Mario, Lara, and the staff really make you feel at home with the small details like the seemingly bottomless cookie jar, complimentary bug spray, and just general positive demeanor.

They also offer mushroom foraging with David Spahr who is something of a Mycological genius. We spent the morning wandering the woods and found a whole bunch of black trumpets, candy caps, and some prized chanterelles. That night, Lara cooked them up for us and simply served them with toast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrpeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squire Tarbox Inn also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Squire Tarbox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing