We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Sunday Staple”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ship's Chow Hall

Ship's Chow Hall
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Open for breakfast and lunch, 5am - 2pm. Near Huber's market and the Concord Bus Line. Very wonderful, true Maine diner. Wonderful
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Sunday Staple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Love this place. The breakfast burrito is the best. Why have anything else. I eat here at least once a month and I have never been disappointed. Ok, not true- they ran out of lemon meringue pie once. People are friendly and food is good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyTigerCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiscasset, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We're regulars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We come here pretty much every Sunday morning, and are never disappointed. Good food, reasonable prices, nice people. I am a particular fan of their omelets - there are few who do as good a job on a sausage and cheddar version. Good breakfast spuds and homemade bread toast. We've always had good, prompt service even when they were busy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a good breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently bought a vacation home in the area and figured we would try the place out. Immediately felt like an outsider when we went inside. Place was pretty quiet and it seemed like we waited forever to get waited on. Food was nothing spectacular. Won't go back again. Wiscasset Diner is the place that will always get our business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidlyons911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A taste of old time Maine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have stopped here twice and enjoy the omelets in any of several flavors. This place is not fancy but offers good food at a reasonable price. Great stop if you have to get up early and need to find a place that is open... You will not find a lot of tourists at the SCH, but you will find lots of locals. They know the deal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

While wandering after antique shopping, we ended up at the Dresden, Maine diner (that is it's sister restaurant and the bread is baked at this Wiscasset one).
It was home-cooked and terrific. Bread, dessert, pies. All homemade. The place made me feel like I had traveled back in time with it's look, feel, and food.
We had haddock stew, chicken soup, raisin bread, BLT and a biscuit.

I was VERY happy we stopped and look forward to making it there on our next annual trip to Maine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship's Chow Hall also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ship's Chow Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing