We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Lobstah Roll I've had in Years!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sprague's Lobster

Sprague's Lobster
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Lobstah Roll I've had in Years!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Driving through Wiscasset, had our sights on dining at Reds because of all the fab reviews I've read. When we arrived, there was a huge line at Reds that we stood in for about 15 min that didn't move. I finally went across the st to check out Spragues and see if they would do a lobster roll w/ butter (am a lobster purest, and grew up in Ct eating lobster rolls doused in butter served on a buttered toasted roll--the way it should be--am not a fan of lobster salad w/ mayo). Was told they just toss their lobster w/ the faintest hint of mayo and I could get melted butter to throw on--sold! So I had the lobster roll stuffed w/ gobs of claw and knuckle meat and the hubby ordered the lobster dinner. The roll (w/ melted butter poured over) was just divine, hubby's lobster dinner was very good, the steamers were delish. All this along w/ seating on picnic tables overlooking the ocean--very glad to have not waited in line at Reds. Topped off by a cup of Gifford's wild blueberry ice cream which they sell-- the whole lot, not cheap but all extremely yummy and definitely worth it if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sillygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    63
    22
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ridiculous wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Heading north with family and looking for something quick, we stopped here for lobster rolls, thinking that with just a short little line we would have our food quickly. However, after ordering we proceeded to wait 20-25 minutes before our number was called. Granted it was a Saturday and the pier was busy, but I've been to fine dining establishments that are quicker. While the lobster roll was good, I will choose a location with quicker service next time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank IntotheWoods22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice stop for a quick bite to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We had full intentions of going to the well known competitors right across the street but did not want to wait the hour in line. Walked over and checked out the menu, looked just as good. I had the lobster roll which had large whole pieces of claw and tail, good size for the price. We also had the fish and chips and a cup of chowder. The fish and chips were a little too cooked for the reading but the fish tasted fresh. The chowder was very good. Picnic tables outside and a good view. They were quick to fill the order and pleasant, cash only. I would stop again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alna, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spragues = GREAT FOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice place to get lunch, Spragues is right on the Creamery Pier in Wiscasset so the view is good and there's a nice breeze. Their haddock sandwich is good sized and reasonably priced. The best drink is their home made lemonade - best I've had.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Best Lobster Roll in Maine. Don't waste your time waiting at the famous place across the street, these blow them away. Cash only with some parking on site. Plenty of seating, nothing fancy just good food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprague's Lobster also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Sprague's Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing