We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to a return stay this summer”
Review of Squire Tarbox

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Squire Tarbox
Ranked #2 of 4 Wiscasset B&B and Inns
Madison, Ct.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking forward to a return stay this summer”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The rooms are unique, each has its own personality.The location and setting take you away from the hustle-bustle, serene and beautiful. We found the location very satisfactory for a base to day-trip the shoreline from Bath to Rockport and beyond. Don't forget Portland, a charming city in its own right. There are many places of historical interest well within a short drive. The service was great, the dining outstanding. The chef can create just about anything. Visitors should take advantage of this culinary master's creativity aand experience. The dining room was relaxed and the service excellent. We met new people while dining from the South, Northeast and Midwest as well as some nearby "locals" who know where to go for a great meal. The dining atmosphere lent itself to discussion with others during and after dinner. The chef came out and joined the diners and conversation following the meal. The grounds provided a quiet and peaceful stroll. The rear deck was a great place to relax and meet new friends and wine and dine for lunch. When asked for suggeations for things to do, places to visit and a little local history and background, the lady innkeeper couldn't have been more helpful. Although a one night visit will introduce the traveler to the inn, its location and overall setting can be more thoroughly enjoyed in a two or three day stay. When its good its good! Looking forward to a return stay this summer.

Room Tip: Make advanced reservations, and don't be afraid of challenging the chef's skills with advanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerMadison42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    24
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
61
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I planned a relaxed getaway to Maine for my wife and I. I didn't know where to stay, but a couple told me about the Squire Tarbox and what a wonderful time they had there.
The tarbox is like a little dream getaway for us city folks! The setting is beautiful! The staff are friendly, and suggested several things to do while we were there for the weekend.
Besides the beautiful setting, the food is a highlight at the squire tarbox! Mario the chef was the corporate chef for Restaurant Associates, overseeing Tavern on the Green, The Four Seasons, and The Brasserie.
Mario and his wife have "retired" to Maine and own the S.T.B.. The food is excellent and the much of the fresh vegetables are sourced locally from their son’s organic farm, a few miles away. The eggs are laid on site by their crew of chickens and they have goats all of which are fun to go and check out. They are also working on their gardens which will provide the vegetables once there up and running.
My wife loved it saying we could go back anytime, and we will!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilewisnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We were greeted to a delightful dose of Old World country charm that included the 18th Century Squire Tarbox Inn, an antique timbered barn complete with a Swiss flag, a happy clan of hens, goats, pigs, 2 friendly family dogs, all set amongst a working organic farm.
Highlights: Peace, serenity, delicious food.
We found the accommodations very comfortable & cozy. Our windows looked out over the gardens and veggie fields. The public rooms-parlors, porch, dining room were filled with antiques, bookcases had books, travel guides, games to enjoy- very inviting. Classical music softly wafting thru. While enjoying a drink from the "honor" bar & yummy appetizers, a fellow guest played Sinatra, Porter, on the piano.
Chef Mario offered up fantastic fare for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was buffet style with homemade breads, jams, Swiss meusili, yogurt & you can order up hot items - fresh eggs from their hens. We enjoyed dinner so much that we ate there all three nights. The wait staff were friendly and helpful.
We found the inn to be a perfect spot to explore the area from Bath to Camden. Roni had maps available which highlighted many of the sight seeing destinations. Based on her suggestion, we drove around to a tiny quaint village and had yummy lobster rolls while sitting at picnic tables. Happy as clams!
Definitely will stay again on our next trip to Maine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bondmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

This old rustic 1700's inn is clean and comfortable but the location is out in the wilderness. The rooms are nice but the bathrooms are very very tiny. Its location is quite remote and in the woods of the island so anything you want to see or do is a 15 to 25 minute drive. No food is available nearby so other than your breakfast which comes with the room, you have to go off for other meals or eat dinner at their dining room. The food is good, especially breakfast. The chef is very talented and he is very friendly.

The worst part about the inn is the 13% surcharge on your room and meals and the dry, unwelcoming attitude of the lady innkeeper who greets you and answers to your needs. She can be very cold, defensive and snippy so be prepared, especially if you question her on the 13% room charge she adds to your entire bill when you check out. This is for cleaning your room. Strangely I thought a clean room, towels and sheets came with the stay but apparently at Squire Tarbox she feels this is a frill that you should pay extra for!

Overall I was very uncomfortable there and would NEVER go back. This is primarily due to the remote location and the very unwelcoming lady innkeeper that runs the place. I have never been as poorly treated at a hotel or B&B as I was in this inn. How sad that such a beautiful rustic old historic place is run by such an unwelcoming and unfriendly person. There are dozens of other nice places in the area to stay at and I am sure they will at least make you feel welcomed and that your business is appreciated. I did not even get a "goodby and thank you for staying with us" from the Squire Tarbox lady innkeeper. She said nothing as she handed me my paid bill receipt with a scowl after I questioned the 13% surcharge!

Room Tip: Stay in the main building; add 13% to your price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquireT, Owner at Squire Tarbox, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
This guest arrived with another couple that had made the actual reservation. Their friends had received the e-mail confirmation ( we always hope that it will be shared with any additional friends who are staying) that gave the link to the room page on our website that has all the fee information etc. On that page we explain that we add a 13% gratuity as well as the 7% tax.

We certainly state on our web site that a big part of our charm is that we "are away from the maddening crowds" so that people can come to the Inn after a tiring day of either traveling or seeing the sights and just relax with a drink and enjoy a good meal. This guest obviously was not one who enjoys being so far out of a town and that is fine. We all have different views as to where and what we want on our vacation however, it was their friends that picked our beautiful Inn and they must have thought it would be a nice place to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We were welcomed to the hotel in a friendly manner. This is a beautiful, old house, with character, in a tranquil setting. The room was a good size but the en-suite was snug. This was not a problem but an ingenious way of up-dating facilities in a house built before inside toilets never mind showers!

This was our second visit and we returned because wwe had enjoyed our overnight stay so much. This time, we felt that the emphasis was on the restaurant rather than the B&B. We were disappointed that our booking time for dinner had been changed and we were asked to eat later than we had wished, and we could not have our choice of main course, but the meal was very good. Breakfast was enjoyable.

The Inn is eight miles off the main highway which results in a lovely spot and we enjoyed a stroll in the grounds, but the location is not convenient for sightseeing in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potterers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The farm really is gorgeous: nice outbuildings, happy hens, goats & pigs (fenced in woods, which is great). The main dining room and sitting room are so charming. The room decor is fine too. Bathrooms small, but adequate. I probably shouldn't advertise this, but the weird thing is they don't give you a key to your room. So we didn't leave anything valuable in there. The breakfast was good. Excellent zucchini bread, fresh eggs from their hens. The sausage and bacon are not from their farm though -- standard factory farm meat from "their supplier". We didn't eat at the restaurant for dinner, because we were focused on lobster dinners. Contrary to what one traveller wrote, you are not allowed to bring your own alcohol since they have a liquor license. My main complaint is that it was too expensive for what it is due to the add on of tax and gratuity. I should have calculated that in advance (my fault) but it added $35 to our $152 bill per night. I've never heard of $20 gratuity at a B&B. The other complaint is that the bed wasn't comfortable. It was a bit old and really squeaky. But it's a quiet country spot, so we slept OK and found it relaxing overall. It certainly isn't bad at all, there are some real positives, but I wouldn't recommend it to a friend at that price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliehudson1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The main attraction here is the inn itself and its location. The building is beautifully restored and full of antiques. There is no TV or internet, which to some people would be bad, but for us provided the seclusion and quiet we were looking for. The rooms are small and not especially luxurious, but nonetheless comfortable and quiet. The location is wonderful; perfect for long walks, bike rides, picnics etc. and the surrounding area is very pretty. The food is very good and the atmosphere at the inn is pleasant. It is not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wiscasset
5.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
454 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
4.3 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
71 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
HawksHouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squire Tarbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squire Tarbox

Property: Squire Tarbox
Address: 1181 Main Rd, Westport Island, Wiscasset, ME 04578-3501
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Wiscasset
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wiscasset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Squire Tarbox 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Squire Tarbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squire Tarbox Wiscasset, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing