We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Dinner Option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's Galley

Fisherman's Galley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are reopening with a new name and concept mid-May for the 2016 season. Discover Winter Harbor's own Lobster Pound Style Restaurant.
CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Dinner Option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

One of the few restaurants located in the Winter Harbor, Prospect Harbor Correa area. Good food with a varied menu. In the summer season, they serve lobster rolls and hot dogs outdoors under a tent at lunch time. Right new door to the IGA on route 186.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank purt1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    41
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best of 3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

In a three day span, we ate dinner at Paddy's in Bar Harbor, Jordan Pond House in Acadia, and then finally at Fisherman's Inn. We found the Fisherman's Inn to have the best food, the best service, and the best value. The hostess and the chef always have time to stop at your table. Our table included four children who were treated with respect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wvsummerresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, IL
Level Contributor
242 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My family of four stopped here on Saturday night. Kids had fish sticks and chicken fingers. Both enjoyed their meals. I have the lobster casserole special & my wife had the clam chowder. I would say the chowder was average. The Lobster was decent. They also gave a couple of sides, really good focaccia and a little plate of crackers & carrots with cheese dip. I wouldn't hesitate stopping here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ilaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas City
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Robbed at the Inn”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were about to leave this restaurant when the waitress finally came to take our order. There is no evidence of a manager who cares enough to see that staff is working and things are expedited. The hostess stood around in the kitchen visiting with wait staff. Every course was slowly brought out. I do not fault our attentive waitress, but an overall sense in this place that we really didn't matter. The over-priced lobster bisque was watered down with a scant amount of lobster. I did enjoy the spinach salad & blueberry pie, but for the price of the meal & the overall experience, I felt robbed. Note, when a customer sat down who seemed to have some preferential status, he received immediate attention. Being at Fishermen's Inn I felt I was in an episode of Restaurant Stakeout. We should have known upon entering that the sign out front said "servers needed".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice meal and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We enjoyed our meal. We were first treated to a couple of spreads, one smoked salmon the other a cheddar cheese, with carrots and vegetables. The bread with olive oil poured on crushed garlic, basil, etc. was delicious. My lobster dish was very well seasoned. Desserts also great.

The service was wonderful. Our servers, exchange students from Croatia, were pleasant and efficient. One of us had traveled extensively in Croatia, and it was nice to converse briefly about the country.

Another story...we are staying near by, and came back from a lengthy road day trip and came back too late to get coffee from any place. The very nice red haired woman who seems to be the manager, gave us a pot of coffee, at no charge, for us to take to the place we are renting. That is over and beyond the call of duty.

Locals in the area recommended the restaurant as a fine one, and it lived up to its reputation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barryt312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Galley also viewed

Winter Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Winter Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Winter Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Birch Harbor, Gouldsboro
 

Been to Fisherman's Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing