We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Maine”
Review of Wilson Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wilson Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This must be the best value lodging in the state of Maine. Good large room which is spotlessly clean, well-equipped and well-furnished. Very friendly welcome and helpful advice from the owner on arrival. A delightful garden running down to the lake where they have canoes and kayaks. Positioned just off the main road but with no traffic noise, what more could you want and need for the price?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IcebabyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 511 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Wilson Lake Inn is, without a doubt, the cleanest most comfortable hotel/motel I have ever stayed in. The proprietors, Tom & Sue, go way out of their way to make your visit enjoyable. They gave us many tips as to where to go and we saw both Angel Falls and Rangeley Lake. To see the falls we had to hike into the woods for about a half an hour but the trail was plainly marked as Tom said it would be. We are looking forward to returning there in a few months and seeing more. The nice thing about going right after Columbus Day was that the leaf peepers were already gone yet the foliage was still in full bloom!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgt_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Came to Farmington to visit my niece at Univ. of Maine. Looking for hotels there was not much that looked good. When I widened my search Wilson Lake came up. Nice setting in a town 5 miles from Farmington. Very friendly staff. Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markjchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful place! Very nice proprietors, very friendly and accommodating. They were very helpful in directing us to the local sights and restaurants. The room was clean and the continental breakfast featured wonderful baked goods. My only complaint would be some construction work that started a little too early. However, it did encourage us to get up and get on the road.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xianred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stumbled upon this place traveling with Mom and Sister. We were very tired from traveling and came after dark. Owner waited for us and helped with bags and made sure we had everything we needed. Inn is directly on lake in country setting. Older but quaint. Extremely clean and room well stocked. Bed and pillows comfortable . Bathroom safe for my handicapped Mom. Delicious Italian restaurant very close that owner told us about. Wish I could have stayed here a week but only had one night! Great parking, laundry on premises! Owner really looks out for a travelers needs! Awesome!

Room Tip: Did not mean to select pool! We had a downstairs room and it worked great for us! Did not see upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxnurse98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We've stayed at the Wilson Lake Inn off and on for a number of years and are always impressed by Susan and Tom's friendliness and hospitality. Recently we've been in the process of building a small cabin in the area and had been camping out most of the time rather than staying at the inn. But on the occasion of our 32nd wedding anniversary, we decided we wanted something better than an air mattress in an unfinished cabin. Revisiting the inn again reminded us of what we love so much about it. Such friendly folks, such comfortable accommodations, such a beautiful setting with the gardens and lake and sounds of loons on the lake. You can't get any of this from some cookie-cutter chain motel. We have stayed at the inn in all seasons and all kinds of weather, sampling many of their rooms and never had a bad experience. And they seem to be constantly improving what is already wonderful. Come, stay, enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were a bit skeptical at first driving through part of Wilton, ME, but upon arriving at the Wilson Lake Inn, we put our doubts to rest right away! The premises were lovely - the grounds around the hotel were lanscaped beautifully, the hanging baskets were so colorful, and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Our room was quite large and we enjoyed a view of the lake and grounds out our window. The breakfast was just right with the yummy muffins, juice and coffee. A walk over the grounds down to the lake was a real treat - so peaceful! All in all, it was a very relaxing stay and we will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bert1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilton
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
317 reviews
7.5 mi away
Farmington Motel
Farmington Motel
#2 of 3 in Farmington
39 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mount Blue Motel
Mount Blue Motel
#3 of 3 in Farmington
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Boardwalk Inn
Boardwalk Inn
#1 of 2 in Rumford
38 reviews
5.4 mi away
Colonial Valley  Motel
Colonial Valley Motel
#1 of 3 in Farmington
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lake Inn

Address: 183 Lake Rd, Wilton, ME 04294-5306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wilton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wilton
Price Range: $139 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lake Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilson Lake Inn is located on the shore Wilson Lake, in the Western Lakes and Mountain region of Maine. Ideally suited, for the corporate traveler as well as families. You will feel at home at our unique and charming inn with affordable rates. Open year round. Call today for the best rates. Located only 3 hours from Boston, MA, 1.5 hours from Portland, ME, two hours from Bangor and 4 hours from Burlington, VT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Wilson Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lake Hotel Wilton
Wilson Lake Motel
Wilson Lake Inn Maine/Wilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing