We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business trip turned into a mini-vacation”
Review of Wilson Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wilson Lake Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wilton
Certificate of Excellence
Craftsbury
1 review
“A business trip turned into a mini-vacation”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were looking for moderately priced, but above average lodging. I've never been so impressed with an independently owned establishment. My wife always says that if the gardens are kept well, it shows something about the care taken in general...right again on both counts. Included in the price were kayaks, canoes, and a paddle-boat...along with life preservers of all sizes. The room was immaculate, the bedding was crisp and comfortable. The lake was gorgeous. I seldom recommend lodging because it can be a very personal thing. In this case I'd recommend it without exception. I hope that business brings us this way again, because this stay was more like a mini-vacation..well done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    87
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
175
173
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wappingers Falls, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here Aug. 8-10. Loved the inn. Beautiful grounds, friendly and helpful staff. Beds were comfortable. Room was in great condition and very clean. Nice little table by the window overlooking the back gardens. Continental breakfast had choices of cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea and locally baked goods. Delicious blueberry cake the first morning. There were lovely gardens everywhere, front and back of the inn, with a nice lawn and pathway leading to the lake where you can take out kayaks free or just sit in Adirondack chairs and enjoy the view. Unfortunately we were very busy and the only free time we had during the 3 days it rained heavily. Next time we go to Maine we will definitely stay there. I think Fall would be particularly lovely there. A great value.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor with 2 queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

From the moment we drove in the driveway you could tell it is a beautiful place. The grounds are very nicely kept, the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms are clean and in good repair. Free rentals of kayaks, paddleboat and row boat. Continental breakfast and internet access. If I had known how nice this place was I would have made sure to stay for more than 1 night. I could not find anything to complain about. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Wilson Like Inn. Room was in great condition and very clean with good space and very nice linens, the staff was friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast featured locally baked goods to compliment cereal, yogurt, juice & coffee. The grounds are spacious with nice flower plantings, a large yard rolling down to the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CincyOHTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Wilson Lake Inn is an absolutely beautiful property. The lake and grounds at the Inn are picture perfect and peaceful. We stayed in a second floor room which was very nice. It was a clean room and there is a nice reception area. Fresh baked goods were ready for breakfast early every morning. It is a great part of Maine to explore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Found the Wilson Lake Inn as a result of trip advisor. A great little hotel. Rooms super clean. We had a second floor queen room,well laid out. Lots of space, beds were really comfortable, quality bed linens. Continental Breakfast was good, staff very nice. All in all A very positive experience, would recommend to others.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank volleydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stopped here to break up our journey and were really glad that we did. Wilton is a beautiful spot and the inn is fab. It is set in the most beautiful grounds which slope gently down to the lake shore where there is a little jetty with kayaks and a rowing boat that you can take out (for free). Had it not been raining we'd have definitely taken advantage of this, instead we made good use of the spotlessly clean laundry room instead. Our room was also really comfy and some of the best beds we've had on our trip.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the "continental" breakfast was great, we loved the cakes! A great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandPUSAtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilton
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
310 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mount Blue Motel
Mount Blue Motel
#2 of 3 in Farmington
61 reviews
5.4 mi away
Colonial Valley  Motel
Colonial Valley Motel
#1 of 3 in Farmington
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Echo Lake Lodge and Cottages
15.5 mi away
Boardwalk Inn
Boardwalk Inn
#1 of 2 in Rumford
36 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Perennial Inn
The Perennial Inn
#2 of 2 in Rumford
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lake Inn

Property: Wilson Lake Inn
Address: 183 Lake Rd, Wilton, ME 04294-5306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wilton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilson Lake Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilson Lake Inn is located on the shore Wilson Lake, in the Western Lakes and Mountain region of Maine. Ideally suited, for the corporate traveler as well as families. You will feel at home at our unique and charming inn with affordable rates. Open year round. Call today for the best rates. Located only 3 hours from Boston, MA, 1.5 hours from Portland, ME, two hours from Bangor and 4 hours from Burlington, VT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Wilson Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lake Hotel Wilton
Wilson Lake Motel
Wilson Lake Inn Maine/Wilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing