We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another perfectly fine budget motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
ALEXANDRIA
1 review
“another perfectly fine budget motel”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Arrived during the Columbus day weekend, and ended up paying well over rack rates for a smoking room (all they had). However, the staff at the desk were perfectly nice about it despite being booked solid, and I could barely tell it was a smoking room from the scent. Because it was booked solid, breakfast the next morning was such a madhouse that I avoided it, but it looked like standard fare.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank EVAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    171
    154
    94
    69
See reviews for
204
161
48
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
JACKMAN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our reservation was for non-smoking and we were put in smoking because everything was full. The room was filthy! I actually wiped lipstick off of the bathroom wall which obviously never gets wiped down. Out second night we were able to move to a non smoking king room which was clean and comfortable. Why such a difference in the same establishment?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank ANNETTE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARPON SPRINGS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for one night after having to make a long emergency flight from Hawaii to Maine. We were tired and didn't feel like looking for another hotel late in the evening. The staff that greeted us were very friendly, but once we left the lobby and headed for our room, all we could smell was stale cigarette smoke in the hallway. Once in the room, which was supposed to be nonsmoking, there were cigarette burns in the carpet and smoke migrated up from the rooms below us. We suffered through the night, but were too tired to make an issue. In the morning they did have a very nice breakfast area that was well stocked, but unfortunately didn't make up for the dingy room.

Room Tip: Close to I-95 and downtown Portland. Overpriced for what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westbrook hotels

CABIN JOHN
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This motel was reasonable, which is what we were looking for. It was close to downtown but also close to the Maine Turnpike. The breakfast was fine. Super 8 was just what we were looking for on our trip to Acadia National Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank BEVERLY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here with my 4 year old for 1 night on our way to NH. The hotel is dated but it was clean, my son enjoyed playing in the "clean white tub". The breakfast was fine. We didn't use the pool. The rates were alright which is why I chose the hotel. The bed could be better, but my issue was that a smoke alarm was blaring in the middle of the night. As a healthcare worker I expected instructions from the staff. I called the front desk and asked if we needed to evacuate. The lady was a little rude and said no it's just a smoke alarm, which I had already figured out. Needless to say I got dressed and was ready to vacate if necessary. The alarm blared for about 10 - 15 minutes until the fire department got there. Luckily my son didn't wake up but I did not get any sleep that night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The room was dirty.The bed was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor..i woke up with nasty big bites dont know what kind ive never seen those types of bites...my husband was there on business so i asked for a late check out...only til 1230pm because he had our truck and i had no where to go til he was came back to get me...the lady was rude she said it was ok to have one but was not very nice about it...well the next day i had 4 different people knock on the door complaining at me because i was suppose to check out i told them the lady said i was all set til 1230pm then the lady who gave me a late check out came to my room at 11am to tell me i needed to check out cuz 11 was check out time...i told her you said it was fine til 1230 and she said "i did well its not on my list" i told her i just saw you a few hours ago and you dont remember...she said"o thats right ok" then walked away. what a pain!! i felt like i was getting kicked out and had all our stuff and no truck no where to go my husband had to leave work early to come get me.....i LOVE the Super 8 in Manchester, New Hampshire thats why i chose super 8...but Beware the super 8 in portland maine is horrible they are not all the same...i guess it depends on where you go and the hot tub was cold not hot. not enjoyable. the best part of my stay there was breakfast and thats it!! Never will i go there again not even if i could stay for free!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brina82684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I second the previous reviewer who said that this hotel was a fair value and good service. We stayed in an "upgraded" two-bed room for four nights, including a busy holiday long weekend, with our two kids. The property is showing its age, the furniture, carpets, etc. are worn and dated, and the pool is much smaller than the pictures appear. The room was clean when we arrived, although housekeeping didn't do much on the remaining days of our stay other than make the beds and give us new towels. The beds were comfortable. The pack-and-play provided for our infant was stained so you may prefer to bring your own. The breakfast selection was decent, with fresh waffles and (pre-packaged) hard-boiled eggs. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, we saved a lot of money staying here compared to other 2* hotels in the area, and I would stay again.

Room Tip: No elevators so request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kippycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
571 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
4.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area

Property: Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area
Address: 208 Larrabee Rd, Maine Turnpike at Exit 48, Westbrook, ME 04092-4751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Westbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Westbrook/Portland Hotel Westbrook
Super Eight Westbrook
Westbrook Super 8
Westbrook Super Eight
Super 8 Portland/Westbrook Area Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing