We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe for single traveler” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Elms
Ranked #1 of 1 Westbrook B&B and Inns
Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Safe for single traveler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Went on a weekend trip from Mass.to Portland, Maine. Found The Elms B& B , a short distance from Portland and very reasonably priced compared to hotel and other B& B's. Had a small room ,the Cub Den, but was perfect for a 2 nite stay for 1 person. The house was very well lighted and safe. It was an older house, so there was some older areas, peeling paint, etc,but over all a very nice place. Great breakfasts , great personalities of Matt and Scott, and a great veranda where I got to meet and visit with some other travelers. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mart00Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    5
    4
    9
See reviews for
10
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Andover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was such a wonderful stay. The home itself is incredibly impressive, from the moment you arrive to the tall grand front door entrance and foyer, candelabras and chandeliers, grand wallpaper, and amazing woodwork... the building is something to behold. The people were all so very friendly. We actually stayed in two different rooms during our stay (just how we booked it - to move to the other room on the 2nd night) and both were so lovely. Don't be turned off by the few rooms with shared bathroom here. There are multiple showers and it's very homey and still very private. The breakfast was great. They have a hot tub, which is very deluxe and works wonderfully, and very nice comfortable common areas - even a billiards room. Lovely stay. Will stay again.

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessie03456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gadiner
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is by far one of the best B&B’s in greater Portland. Breakfast was a event, a table full of china to eat on, even on a Thursday morning. Eggs Benedict, with a leafy green salad on the side. I was only there for one night, wish it had been more. I arrived at The Elms with no one there. So I called to get the combination. The wood work is something else inside. Matt later came out to greet me and help me find which ferry I wanted to take and where to eat. he had many suggestions but we finally cut it down to Street & Company for a up scale seafood dinner. I can’t wait to get back to the greater Portland area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

When you expect a nice and quiet B&B as we did after reading their homepage, it is definitely not te right place. Situated on a very busy mainstreet in the heart of an industrial area with a huge factory as neighbor. Dirty windows - nobody was there when we arrived (we needed a code to get in, which I did not realize at home) it seemed there were no other guests. Took some pictures to proof and flew.
Later that evening we contacted the owner to get back our deposit for the first night. He insistet to keep it - should be happy with it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westbrook hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

The Elms is an intimate and cozy place with original antique furnishing. It was my first time in Maine and we were in Portland for a friend's wedding. Most of the rooms in Portland were booked for the long holiday weekend so the Elms was our last resort and we didn't expect much. We had a fantastic time. The hosts were easy to get into touch when we were planning our trip and understanding when we checked in later than expected. They also made sincere chit chat and told funny stories as they served the best eggs benedict - with perfectly poached eggs!!!! Anyway, I plan to visit one day and explore the Islands of the Maine Coast - The Elms should be my first stop.

Room Tip: The river view is best if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quinnzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

My husband and I had an intamate gathering at The Elms for a wedding reception. The Elms was perfect for what we wanted. Elegant, Romantic and Intimate. The owners were great to work with. They allowed us to put our own decorative twist on things, bring a caterer and have a great time. We were treated more like family than guests. Our friends and family have not stopped talking about it because it was so beautiful and we all had such a great time. Thank you guys at The Elms, it was the best day of my life!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlessedBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

My daughter found this very beautiful victorian for her wedding reception. We rented 2 bedrooms for 2 nights. One for my husband and myself and the other for our friend who catered the affair. We rented the whole downstairs for for Stefanni and Michael's reception. Every person who came raved about how beautiful it was and how comfortable they felt. Matt and Scott went above and beyond in making us feel comfortable, as if we were part of their family. I can't say enough about how gracious Matt and Scott were. Saturday and Sunday mornings breakfast were fantastic. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the decor beautiful. We can hardly wait until our next visit to The Elms B & B.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klgarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westbrook
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
5.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
5.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms

Property: The Elms
Address: 102 Cumberland St, Westbrook, ME 04092-3501
Location: United States > Maine > Westbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Maine/Westbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing