We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great red sauce. OK everything else.”
Review of Casa Novello

Casa Novello
Ranked #7 of 64 Restaurants in Westbrook
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
South Salem, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great red sauce. OK everything else.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Have been here a number of times on the Monday-Tuesday night 2-for-1 dinner (which does not include ALL entrees, but does include MANY). Sometimes as a couple; sometimes with friends. THE BEST THING (and most consistent) is the very delicious red sauce -- probably because it is really a red-sauce-family-restaurant, and not a Northern Italian white-sauce-type of place. If you get pasta with meatballs or sausage WITH RED SAUCE -- and stick to that fare (or equivalent) -- it is really fresh and delicious. Others have sort of liked the other sauces, but I think they're too thick and not "subtle" enough. Service is fabulous and the place, with a real European feel, is very friendly and welcoming. GET THE RED SAUCE and don't try anything too sophisticated. Especially on a 2-for-1 dinner Monday or Tues. (It is crowded those nights!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    29
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Italian food!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I first ate at Casa Novello when invited there for a business dinner, and have been going back ever since! It's a small, homey place, with great service, a warm atmosphere, and excellent food. The Bolognese sauce is a favorite!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian Fare In A Cozy Little Bistro”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

While visiting a dear friend in Portland last night, she suggested dinner at Casa Novello. A great suggestion! This cozy little spot in neighboring Westbrook offers a menu and nightly specials with something for everyone. I enjoyed the best cheese lasagna I have ever had. My friend tried the fresh scallops over angel hair pasta, smothered with a tasty sauce. We shared and both were just delicious. Portions were substantial: We took home half of our meal although we had filled ourselves. The hostess and our waitress were very friendly and attentive. We observed that every employee seemed to be enjoying themselves working here. As a native Bostonian, I feel that this little place is truly "North End North."

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Anywhere but here.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Casa Novello offers a two for one dinner special from a special menu. Great bargain? Well, we found out why. The food wasn't even marginally good. Tan colored chicken Marcella, tasted like ramen noodles or a powder. The carbonara was just as bad. 2 caeser Salads were swimming in dressing and then COVERED in shake powder Parmesan cheese. It could have been so much more- simple fresh food just didn't exist. I feel that if they had good fresh food instead of
Money saving frozen pre made ingredients, they wouldn't have to entice patrons by giving it away.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel101102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had dinner at Casa Novello with my husband and was very happy!
The atmosphere was quiet and very romantic!
The food was delicious and priced fairly. The staff was pleasant!
I highly recommend eating here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katekriskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Novello also viewed

 

Been to Casa Novello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing