We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bucket list adventure exceeding all expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A bucket list adventure exceeding all expectations!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Dirk Hartog Island has always been a place we have dreamed of visiting for many reasons but most significantly the part it plays in Australia's history. The fact it is the first place where foreigners came ashore in 1616 (Dutch explorers) fascinates and enthrals both my husband & I. (My husband is Dutch and i am Australian as far back as you can get!).
You can imagine our delight when after our short but extremely scenic flight to the islands tiny airstrip to discover that as equally passionate about the islands history is the family that calls DHI their home and runs the lodge.
The accommodation is simple but more than adequate and when you are in such a stunning part of Australia there is NO reason to be in your room! The beds were comfy and it had air con!! Huge bonus!
I for one just loved spending time at the big open table staring out at the aqua waters or sitting back on the lounge with the lodges resident dog "salty" by your side. I had taken a magazine. It sat on the coffee table from the day we go there until the day we left, unopened... there just always seemed to be something better to be doing or gazing at. We didnt have a vehicle so relied on day trips with the hosts, Tori & Kieran, and who else would you rather be guided by than 2 people that have spent over 20years on the island bringing up their 3 beautiful children. It has a long family history and what they don't know about the island isn't worth knowing!! They also know every nook & cranny and can fill as many days as you can spare with magical trips exploring it. Then you get to the food part... WOWZA.. don't think you are going to be missing out given the nearest store or restaurant is many many miles away on the mainland! I would pick TORI'S cooking over a restaurant any day! In some ways its a shame that a fancy restaurant in Sydney somewhere is missing out on her talents, but as a guest at DHI you will be grateful they are! You can drive over as they allow 10 vehicles on the island at one time and there is a barge to get you there. This would also be fantastic but we really enjoyed our guided trip! We also went fishing with Kieran and it was incredible!!! So many options in any wind both land based and boat. We had an absolute ball. The beach directly out the front of the lodge is perfect for a swim or paddle board.
Its the kind of place you just never know what you might see, do or encounter next.
Warm Aussie Hospitality at its best... truly a memorable destination and experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

In February 2014 my wife and myself had the good fortune of spending 4 days at the Ecolodge on Dirk Hartog Island. I could not speak more highly of the experience as a wilderness trip and gastronomic delight.The only accommodation on this 100 km long island is the Ecolodge. Only 10 vehicles are allowed on the island at any one time. The island is being turned in to a wildlife sanctuary. The sheep are gone, the goats are almost gone, then the cats, then the rest. It will become and is already on the way to becoming the largest island of its type on earth. Two similar smaller islands lie to the north. The only competition size wise, would be Macquarie Island in the Southern Ocean, which is much smaller. The island landscape is already showing the benefits of removal of sheep and goats. The island is in the middle of the Shark Bay World Heritage Area. The largest seagrass meadows on Earth, the largest concentration of Dugong, the most significant Loggerhead turtle hatchery in the Southern Hemisphere, the original Stromatolite destination.
Dirk Hartog Island has sandscapes to compete with Fraser Island. The human history is remarkable. Dampiers original site of plant collection can still be seen. The exact, original site of the Dirk Hartog Inscription site, alongside Vlaminghs is still to be seen.
The accommodation is very comfortable without being super luxurious. The food is superb. The site of the Ecolodge on the beach is simply beautiful. The bird life includes the Black and White Wren, the Southern Emu Wren, White Breasted Sea Eagles, Wedgetails and Ospreys.The birding will only get better. I don't fish but I understand that that is world class. See it now and then come back in 5 years!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Vividly etched memories of our six night stay in Kieran and Tori Wardles family villa will remain with us and our friends from Vienna always.The Wardle families provided calm and efficient organisation all equipment and fishing rods for our needs,generous and warm hospitality,expert advices and privacy for our two families.We awoke to superb sunrises and basked and savoured the lingering sunsets from the villa veranda just 25 meters from the water's edge whilst enjoying the succulent barbequed fish(mainly pink snapper,some red emperor and flathead) after many exciting discoveries each day on the unique Dirk Hartog Island.
Idyllic is just one word of many to describe our visit in early August 2013.
Our day cruise with Kieran and sons was magical,especially after we had fished to our hearts content,observed dugongs,dolphins, many fish,birds, that Kieran stopped the boat and organised a mantaray to circle the boat and then glide slowly past just below the millpond surface one meter from us.
Our photos have captured a fragment of the rugged and spectacular ocean coast,the fun we had on the massive sanddunes,the calm spread of the world Heritage Shark Bay and the iconic site at Cape Inscription of Dirk Hartog's landing in 1616 with his adventurous crew..
We will return to explore and enjoy further. Graham Hobbs and Ulrike Wurth Geelong.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

A group of old blokes who have been to Dirk Hartog Island Lodge at least 3 times and are keen to head back there. As keen fishermen, we love the fishing environment, where it spoils you for the real art normally required to catch a fish. The sea life is very special with multitudes of whales, manta rays, sharks, dugongs, turtles, dolphins and all sorts of fish.

Fly fishing around the homestead will see you land trevally, flathead and juicy sand whiting. Not to mention the reports of bonefish, snapper, bluebone and queenfish regularly caught from other nearby spots.

4WD exploring around the island is a true adventure, and with the expert guidance offered by your host Kieran, even the most inhospitable dirt track can be navigated safely to reach a pristine fishing spot. From safely crossing enormous sand dunes, leaning over 100m high cliffs into a stiff sea breeze holding you above pounding surf below, blowholes sending magical spouts of salty vapour rising high above the cliffs to the shark nursery and rugged reef platforms at Surf Point.

The homestead is comfortable and relaxing and the food is world class. Breakfast whilst watching sharks and whales is special, as are evening drinks at sunset. Tory's canapés at sunset are legendary- especially the fresh caught whiting served straight from the BBQ, with Kieran's evening trip planning to ensure you make the most of the opportunities based on expert local knowledge and current weather forecasts.
Convivial television can even allow a group of old blokes to watch their favourite TV programs if they have the stamina after a full days action adventure.

Room Tip: We haven't tried the other self contained accommodation that is also available. Each accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

What an amazing , unforgetable Family Holiday!!! From the moment we stepped foot on the Idealic Dirk Hartog Island, the fun never stopped . From Paddleboarding over a shovelnose shark, quad bike, endless fishing spots, mantarays, whales, blowholes, reef walking, Shells & More Shells, sand dunes fun, adventures around the island and much much more. The kids wont stop talking about "when can we go back?? The holiday was made even more relaxing by the UNBELIEVABLE Chef Tori, her staff and the most welcoming "Wardle clan"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been to Dirk Hartog Island Lodge 4 times and are heading back there next year. This is by far our favourite family holiday destination. Non-stop adventures and excitement for the children, and the most relaxing and rejuvenating place for adults. We are wildlife enthusiasts and the island is a magical destination for wildlife watching. We have seen so many whales and their calves, dugongs, seals, turtles, rays, dolphins, sharks and of course fish!! The fishing is very exciting, both for fishing obsessed dads and their kids. The trips around the island are wonderful, and going in the 4WD buggies makes it all an adventure. Sand boarding down enormous sand dunes into the ocean and visiting the shark nursery and crab holes at Surf Point are highlights. We also love the beach combing, long walks, snorkelling and kayaking in the bay. The homestead is beautiful and relaxing and the food is divine. Breakfast whilst watching dolphins and whales is always special, as are evening drinks at sunset. Tory and Kieran are wonderful hosts who make you feel so welcome, and our children always look forward to playing with theirs. We never want to leave and always look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A totally unique location that provides for adventure, discovery and relaxation. With numerous bays to explore and fishing spots to try your luck at, it made for the perfect family holiday. Along with the mandatory sunset drinks and the amazing hospitality of our hosts Kieran & Tor it couldn't get any better!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dirk Hartog Island
0.0 mi away
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
0.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Shark Bay
0.0 mi away
Wildsights Villas
Wildsights Villas
#3 of 4 in Denham
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
On the Deck at Shark Bay
Show Prices

Been to Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge

Property: Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge
Address: Lot 62 Dirk Hartog Island, Dirk Hartog Island, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Dirk Hartog Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dirk Hartog Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dirk Hartog Island Lodge is a rustic eco escape located within the Shark Bay World Heritage Area. The Lodge is located 30m from the ocean, all rooms have en-suites. All gourmet meals and cool drinks are included with your tariffs.The Lodge is an exclusive holiday destination that caters for family and business groups who are looking for a private getaway. Your hosts Kieran & Tory will help plan your visit, daily adventures, teach you how to catch a fish and even keep the kid's entertained. Dirk Hartog Island Lodge: HOLIDAYING WITH MY FAMILY & FRIENDS and NOT EVERYONE ELSE'S ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing