We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Family Holiday Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Best Family Holiday Ever!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Incredible, isolated oasis with so much family adventure to be had. Kids adored every second of activity from sand duning, fishing, swimming to combing the isolated beaches for treasure. Adults enjoyed the endless array of food and beverages, quality to rival 5 star resorts. Highly recommend for all travellers to this region as either an adult getaway or entire family adventure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We recently spent a fantatsic week up at Dirk Hartog Island staying at the Lodge and being extrememly well looked after by Tor and Kieran. The kids love the place bceause its such a great adventure with all the great fishing, swimming, beach combing and exploring, the wives love it because Tor's such an incredible cook and host and the lodge is so comfortable and the men love it cause Kieran takes us out fishing and the wives and kids are happy..........Needless to say we have booked again for next year.

Jezza

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It might have been my 17th year on the island, but this is one family holiday that is not stopping any time soon! Kieran, Tory and staff always provide top notch hospitality at the homestead, which boasts very comfortable accommodation only a stones throw from the beach.

The fishing doesn't get any better then at Dirk Hartog. Take your pick --> off the beach, rocks, cliffs, boat... Cooked up beautifully for you back at the homestead.
The marine life is absolutely spectacular, whether your out on the boat/barge or snorkelling --> The fish, sharks, whales, dolphins, dugongs, manta rays... The list goes on...

Fishing, snorkelling, 4WDing, boating, hiking, the sand dunes, snorkelling, RELAXING!... No matter how many times I go back, theres always plenty of things to enjoy. Each year is always a different holiday. The place is suitable for anyone..from families with children to the most serious of fisherman.

Dirk Hartog is a secluded paradise and the moment you step on the island, you can't help but feel relaxed! A must visit!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A really special place - this was the third time I had stayed at the homestead and the great food and hospitality provided by Kieran and Tory is a delight. Comfortable accommodation in the midst of a world class wilderness area is something all should experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Willo956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booragoon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you want to experience something special that only a few people (in the know) are ever able to !!.... this is the best !!. The hosts make you feel like a member of the family and we hope to catch up again and make lifelong freinds !!.

An Absolute must for any one must who likes fiahing/wilderness or just something SPECIAL !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Notnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I Just finished another fantastic trip to the island and I'm already looking forward to the next. I have been there numerous times with the island never getting boring as each trip has offered something new and exciting to the point where you just never know what you might see or do. This year it was the spectacular snorkelling at Surf Point that made me realize that this place is special. I have never been more impressed with the variety and color of the coral and fish. I even had a wall of "whiting" swim past, there must have been thousands. I couldn't recommend it more for anyone who loves the outdoors or if not you can enjoy the island by staying at the lodge and have someone else do all the cooking and cleaning for you. It is a great place for everyone from families to blokes who just want to go fishing. The island offers something for everyone such as relaxing by the calm warm waters of the homestead bay to cliff and boat fishing. If you are staying at the lodge I couldn't recommend the food more. Fresh fish on the BBQ, Gormet salads and an endless supply of home cooked Anzac cookies and Chocolate brownie just to mention a few. Simply delicious!

Room Tip: All lodge rooms have a fantastic view of the beach and bay and come with on-suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

DHI Lodge is the perfect place for a getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life. The location is unique, private, historic and simply spectacular. If fishing is your go, both land based or boating - there would be few places in the world that could compare. If a family holiday is what you are looking for, there are just so many options available on this island for any age group, it would be hard to beat.

The scenery and landscape is amazing, as is the wild life that is everywhere you look.

The accommodation is very comfortable, the food fantastic and all the staff make you feel very welcome.

If you are looking for a wonderful holiday in a remote location, this should definitely be on your list!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dirk Hartog Island
0.0 mi away
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
0.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Shark Bay
0.0 mi away
Wildsights Villas
Wildsights Villas
#3 of 4 in Denham
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
On the Deck at Shark Bay
Show Prices

Been to Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge

Property: Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge
Address: Lot 62 Dirk Hartog Island, Dirk Hartog Island, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Dirk Hartog Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dirk Hartog Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dirk Hartog Island Lodge is a rustic eco escape located within the Shark Bay World Heritage Area. The Lodge is located 30m from the ocean, all rooms have en-suites. All gourmet meals and cool drinks are included with your tariffs.The Lodge is an exclusive holiday destination that caters for family and business groups who are looking for a private getaway. Your hosts Kieran & Tory will help plan your visit, daily adventures, teach you how to catch a fish and even keep the kid's entertained. Dirk Hartog Island Lodge: HOLIDAYING WITH MY FAMILY & FRIENDS and NOT EVERYONE ELSE'S ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dirk Hartog Island Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing