We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money and quiet location, shame about the weather!”
Review of Ford Farm Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilcot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ford Farm Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money and quiet location, shame about the weather!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great value for money - clean and comfortable lodge (we stayed in Kilcot Lodge). Nice touches such as welcome pack (including tea and biscuits) and toiletries. Although the brochure states 'Shower only' it is almost the size of a bath!
Owners very friendly and welcoming. Lovely quiet location. Good for touring local area (where able due to a number of nearby towns being (partly) flooded!) - we went to the Abergavenny (market day - Tuesday), Monmouth, Ross-on-Wye, Cheltenham and Forest of Dean (for those going in off peak season bear in mind that a lot of the attractions are not open in February (some might open half term only) including Puzzlewood, Clearwell Caves etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClareLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
64
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Three of us went for new year. Such a lovely area. Owners both very kind, happy to help out and really looked after us. Pub very close by in walking distance and not a far drive away from Cheltenham which was a ice day out. Great location - perfect trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgp238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a weekend between Christmas and the New Year and it was perfect. Well equipped lodge with everything we needed during our stay and very comfortable and warm. The hot tub was lovely after an afternoon of walking and we were even lucky enough for the wind and rain to stop for two days. So peaceful, I had the best 3 nights sleep in ages.
Malcolm was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and gave us directions to the nearest pub so we could enjoy some pub grub.
Personally, I loved not having any mobile reception or 3G so this made it even better for me.
Stay here to truly get away from it all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeti1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at a lodge for a week with our 7 month old baby in November 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Having stayed in similar properties before that haven't been cleaned very well, the first thing to praise is the cleanliness of the lodge, it had been cleaned to a very high standard, which is particularly important to us whilst we have a baby playing on the floor! There was the odd cobweb, but that's not surprising in that type of property and location.

The lodge was an excellent size, with plenty of room in the double bedroom (often you find yourself trying to squeeze round the bed, not the case here) and a spacious lounge and kitchen area. The twin room, although we used it for our baby, was also a good size room. Both rooms were well furnished, with bedside tables, dresser and lots of wardrobe space and plenty of hangers. The bed itself was very comfy, with a good supply of pillows.

There were some lovely toiletries in the bathroom which is a nice touch, but to be honest, I would have preferred towels to be supplied, as although bed linen is supplied, towels are not. There were tea towels in the kitchen though. The shower was great, very powerful and plenty of hot water.

The kitchen is well appointed, with utensils and crockery. It also has a microwave, washing machine and dishwasher. Washing up liquid is also provided and there was a large integral fridge.

Given that it was November, the lodge was warm and cosy, however there is a ceiling fan in the lounge for the warmer months.

Would definitely stay here again. We received a very warm welcome, the location was great for exploring the Forest of Dean and the lodge has pretty much everything you'll need.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KateMis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My partner and I went to Ford Farm for an October break, with our new 6 month old Cavalier dog. Having previously stayed at, and had a bad experience at, Forest Holidays we looked for something different, and were delighted with the jewel we found.
Firstly, as everyone else has mentioned Malcolm and Martyn are wonderful hosts, very friendly and obliging. It is like staying with family. Not only did they make us more than welcome, but they also welcomed our Cavalier.
We stayed in the Kilcot Lodge, which was spotlessly clean, warm and the little touches, such as the fresh flowers, tea, coffee, biscuits and all the toiletries made it feel like home in a way.
Throughout our stay we often saw Malcolm or Martyn, and their friendliness and willingness to have a chat was always refreshing. From the first day they seemed like old friends.
As for the area, well the lodge site was lovely and secluded and the lack of a phone signal was not a problem, as a quick walk up the lane would solve that. But it was nice to get away from the internet and the outside world and relax.
The lodges are within easy reach of a wide range of activities and sites and there were many leaflets in the lodge to let us know what was nearby.
We would have no hesitation in going back again. In fact we are planning a trip again soon. If you want to relax, then this is the place for you. We have recommended Ford Farm to family and friends, with no hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobelmwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spacious, cosy lodge, a nice place, lack of wifi and towels are the only things can think to mention for improving and real woodburners, electric is easy but a bit naff.
Lodge was nicely spaced from others with a garden area.

Room Tip: hot tub lodge must be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went to Ford Farm lodges are in September for the 2nd time. Malcolm recognised us instantly and made us feel very welcome. The lodge was very clean and just how we remembered. We took our dog and the walks around the lanes are excellent and plenty of off track walking to be done. The hot tub was clean and serviced very well. Would highly recommended for a relaxing weekend with no distractions! No phone signal is both a pain and bliss if you want to relax! Will definetly be going again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDavies86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcot
4.0 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kilcot Inn
Kilcot Inn
#3 of 5 in Newent
47 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newent Golf Club and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Farmers Boy Inn
The Farmers Boy Inn
#1 of 4 in Longhope
770 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ford Farm Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ford Farm Lodges

Property: Ford Farm Lodges
Address: Ford Lane, Kilcot GL18 1NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Kilcot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kilcot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing