We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible, memorable experience - highly recommended ***”

Jonah's Whale Beach
Reserve with
Jonah's Whale Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $82
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Perhaps the only feature that can divert your attention from the stunning view at Jonah’s is the food. The multi award-winning Hatted Restaurant offers excellent Contemporary Australian cuisine and an exceptional wine list offering more than 1600 wines from around the globe.
1 review
“Incredible, memorable experience - highly recommended ***”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently booked an overnight stay and dinner at Jonah's to celebrate my husbands birthday. We checked into our room which had the most incredible view I have ever seen from a hotel. Words cannot describe the breathtaking location and endless horizon outlook. Even in winter - it is amazing!
We drove five mintues up the roadspector iconic Palm Beach and played 9 holes of golf on the course that is bordered by Pittwater sailboats on one sude and the surf of the Pacific Ocean on its right - and incredibly - open to the public.
After indulging in our spa bath (with heated floors!) we floated up to dinner in the restaurant. This was not our first dining experience at Jonah's and I must say it even exceeded the wonderful memories of our previous visit.
We ordered the Harvey Bay Prawn tortellini, scallops, Cone Bay Barramundi and the Mill Hill Lamb. They were ALL amazing and the perfectly balanced flavours and portions. We even went for a dessert - which we rarely do - and were so happy we did! A Chocolate Souffle w a Baileys infused anglais and espresso ice cream - made to order - was utterly amazing!!
The service was faultless - everyone knew their stuff and were gracious, helpful and informative to a very high standard. The wine list is another story altogether - something like 1200+ entries - astonishing!
Highly recommended - a very special experience indeed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VicGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    78
    45
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine food, poor service”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had lunch at Jonah's on 5 August to celebrate family visiting Sydney from the USA.

The impression on entering the restaurant was stunning: tables nicely set, plenty of space between them, and the amazing view out to the ocean and the occasional passing whale.

The food more than matched the expectations raised by the initial impressions. I had an entrée of pork belly and black sausage, followed by a main of tiny baby lamb rump and shoulder, and a dessert of Granny Smith apple. All the dishes were excellent, as were those of the other adults. And the restaurant was very good in dealing with my 2½-year-old grandson, providing a high chair and rapidly providing a child-size serving of fish and chips.

However, the service was about the poorest I have ever received at a quality restaurant. Things started well, but the waiter did not remember who had ordered which dish, did not refill water glasses, had to be reminded to bring the ordered wine, brought the wrong dessert wines, and did not clear used glasses from the table. The glasses used for the appetiser cocktails were still on the table when the bill was brought.

Speaking with the manager, it seems that Jonah's usually has 7 or 8 diners on a Monday lunchtime, but this week that had blown out to almost 40 with some 25 making bookings that morning. The restaurant had to call in anyone who was available!

The cost for 4 adults and a child was just over $600, which I think is not unreasonable for this quality of food. Pity about the service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydneynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJonahs, Manager at Jonah's Whale Beach, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank You for providing Jonah's with feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine and the amazing views.

I appreciate your feedback re service issues as it has identified a training shortfall which we have now been able to address with the relevant staff.

Please accept our apology and I hope that you will return in the future to allow us the opportunity to show you that the level of service you experienced is not indicative of the usual high standard at Jonah’s Relais & Chateaux .

Kind Regards
Mohan Deheragoda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Feeling very special”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went mid-week as we understand it is very crowded on weekends. The serenity of the sea on a sparkling day combined with superb food and really great service made it a very special occasion. Driving to Whale Beach and eating at Jonahs is a very special outing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbaraeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Outstanding View”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have been hearing from friends and associates for many years how fantastic Jonah's Restaurant was and on this occasion I can say I was not dis appointed.
In addition to one of the most stunning views you could imaging in you wildest dreams, high atop an escarpment looking east out to sea on a brilliant sunny Sydney day; we even had the chance to glimpse a whale breaching on its way past. Team that with a wine list that is extremely extensive, beautiful table setting, totally professional wait staff and very creative, beautifully presented and delicious food and you have a fair indication of a wonderful Sunday luncheon experience.
As you can imaging this situation is not cheap. However, for a fabulous experience or a very special occasion it would be hard to beat anywhere in the world.
Tables at the window are highly sought after so if you really want one for a very special occasion I suggest you book well in advance. All tables have a wonderful view and there are even booths that are raised at the rear of the dining room to provide an uninterrupted view for a lovely, intimate dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One for your bucket list”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Located miles from the hussle and bustle of the city and perched upon a cliff over looking the Pacific Ocean lies one of Sydney's best kept restaurant secrets in Jonahs. From the moment you walk in it feels like you are a thousand miles from anywhere ( we in reality you are about 40 mins from the center of Sydney), you can feel the calming atmosphere.

The team at Jonahs are second to none led by Christian Baeppler (Restaurant Manager and Head Sommelier) , his knowledge of wines is outstanding , his style is calm and assisting as he guides you through one of the most magical wine lists available anywhere in Australia.

The food is outstanding, very inch of detail is overseen by Executive Chef Peter Ridland as he and his team produce not only some of the most visually appealing foods we have ever eaten but also some of the finest we have ever eaten.

The service team are quiet and accommodating, you never seem to notice that they are there but they are and just when you need them.

Going to Jonahs is not about just going to a great restaurant is about taking part in a true dining and culinary experience, there are few restaurants that we have been to that come close.

If you are visiting Sydney this has to be on your " must visit or bucket list" and if you love in Sydney take the time to go see Christian and the team as you really do not know what you are missing

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LethaleighSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jonah's Whale Beach also viewed

 
Palm Beach, Pittwater
Cottage Point, Warringah
 

Been to Jonah's Whale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing