We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a lot wrong with this as an experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jonah's, Whale Beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Whale Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Jonahs as a part of a package deal that included a seaplane flight up from Sydney Harbour as well as food and accommodation. As a chill out location it would take some beating. Stunning views from the well appointed rooms allowed for complete privacy overlooking the ocean. The dining was also quality with an excellent menu and wines that added to the overall experience. We had breakfast there as well and also an impromptu lunch on arrival. None of which disappointed. As something special we can recommend Jonah's. We will be back.

Room Tip: No issue here all rooms are great
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Jonah's, Whale Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 343 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great views and wonderful staff coupled with exquisite food make this a wonderful location at lunch for a special occasion. The highlight though was the extensive craft beer list. Finally top end restaurants are treating beer like wine and no longer just offering Crown and Boags. I only hope that they train up their staff more on craft beer to be able to food match as they can with wines.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jrooSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Fabulous hotel, prime location and breathtaking views!!

We would highly recommend Jonah's if you're looking for accommodation in Whale/Palm beach area. We opted not to dine for breakfast as felt at $50pp and only available to 930am it wasn't for us. However, We dined at the restaurant for dinner which was first class, superb food worth every penny. If you do your research there are a number of fabulous restaurants and cafes if you want to venture out of the hotel.

Only areas I think they could improve:

Bar service very slow on the terrace, once seated you expect someone to follow up quite quickly to take your order. On several occasions we had to go and find someone to take our order as did other guests. I would also expect complimentary snacks (nuts or crisps) for the price of drinks.

A turndown service in the evening would be well received as would fresh towels.

We would recommend paying extra for a sea view room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch on December 18th. Party of 7 for my wife's 50th birthday. Over from England: this was a repeat visit from 2008. Location is truly breathtaking and service/food not far behind. Luke provided common sense advice re drinks and Jasmine provided top quality service. Two 10 year olds found something to eat but there is no specific children's menu. Bill for 7 came to just over A$1000 which was very reasonable. Half a dozen starters/mains to choose from - I had Oysters and Barramundi - tough life!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mike4wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the moment the venue was selected for our daughters Wedding and Reception Jonah's was the epitome of professionalism, every detail consulted on and carried out as requested, no surprises or compromises.
On the day we had a hiccup when the Marriage Celebrant fell ill during the Service and was unable to complete the vows. Murray and his team stepped in serving canapes and drinks during the unexpected break (after confirming with the Bride and Groom that this was okay with them). In the mean while phoning for an Ambulance, phoning for another Celebrant (keeping the Bride and Groom updated thereby lessening their stress) and with a little rescheduling the Ceremony was completed, then into the reception and speeches averting what could have been a disaster at another less solution focused venue.
The following morning my husband and I came in for breakfast at 7.30am knowing the staff were still working after 1am to re set the venue - all the decorations had been moved and re decorated in the enclosed terrace - no effort spared and there was Murray smiling and offering us juice, coffee, tea . With Sage and Emily on Reception, Paige on Events and Lubosh helping to carry the decorations out to our vehicles the morning after we could not have been in better hands. I have no hesitation in stating 'You can trust this team of people with your Special Day be it an Anniversary, hosting a Wedding and Reception - whatever the occasion - this is the team you want in your corner, so you can relax, look good, enjoy the day and be confident that no matter what life throws at you they have the answer or will find it without fuss.'
It would be remiss of us not to acknowledge the food, whether its breakfast the morning after, the lunches in the lead up to the Wedding or the Reception meals themselves you clearly have a world class chef and extremely well run kitchen as each meal is a delight to the pallet and once eaten you find yourself eagerly anticipating the next opportunity. There was no difference in the quality be it one or ninety, all served promptly and with a smile, the wait staff were attentive, courteous and friendly.
As for breakfast the morning after, we were also advised the kitchen closes at 9.30am to enable us to advise those sleeping in, the cooked breakfasts were freshly prepared from quality ingredients and as for breakfast late comers they were offered meals that didn't require cooking, the fruit plate is fresh and the croissants accompany it, bottomless tea, coffee and a selection of juices, all in all the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home as their guests.
We then had the packing of the decorations, flowers etc from the day before, collected and where possible placed in our vehicles, nothing was too much trouble.
Thankyou to Murray, Sage, Emily, Paige, Lubosh and 'the chef, kitchen and wait staff' for all the wonderful memories and ensuring the Wedding, Reception and Morning After Breakfast were an absolute pleasure.
I look forward to sharing with pride the experience of quality dining and accommodation at this establishment so they too can take the memories home.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good at Jonah's!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I just can't fault Jonah's, from the gracious and friendly staff, the phenomenal cocktails, the million dollar setting and views, the delicious food and wonderful ambience.

Love it. I hope to be back the next time I'm in Australia.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Kjb119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were very excited to spend the weekend at Jonah's to celebrate my husband birthday having heard plenty of good things about it all. Unfortunately it didn't go so well for us. It started just after we checked in and went to use the bathroom. The toilets were not clean and I mean not clean. Not acceptable for a property of that level. Anyway we decided not to make a big deal about it and went to have a few cocktails at the bar. Cocktails were delicious and the atmosphere by the fireplace was quite nice until 6pm and 3 different staff members came and ask us one after the other if we wanted to go and sit at our table for dinner. 3 times just passed 6pm while we had made a booking for 8pm. Relax! We are here to have a good time and not be interrupted 3 times in 30 minutes to be rushed to our table. Dinner was only ok, our meals were good but nothing special and the atmosphere wasn't great either. Too much light and noise which is more like a family atmosphere than a relaxing one. We woke up in the morning to amazing views and we spotted a couple of whales in the ocean which was quite amazing. Breakfast was another story when I found a hair in my fruit salad! That is not acceptable anywhere and certainly not in that type of restaurant for a breakfast worth $50. They apologised for both incidents but did not even offer a discount or anything!! I got a phone call from the Manager the following day apologising and asking me a thousand questions and saying he's sending me a voucher for a free breakfast and will call me back in the next 2 days to make sure I have received it. None of this happened!! Extremely disappointed when we spend over $1000 in not even two days. Bad bad bad.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurenn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonahsWhaleBeach, General Manager at Jonah's, Whale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We rarely receive negative feedback. Jonah's has 84 proud years of happy customers to show for this. I hope you would agree that in these demanding times a property such as ours would not survive very long if we did not maintain high standards.

Jonah's naturally, like all top quality properties places a high premium on the cleanliness of our rooms and their immaculate presentation. Our systems have unfortunately fallen down in your case and the relevant staff member has been briefed on this one off problem.

I note that we have already dealt with the issue re breakfast via your comments in the Restaurant section of this web site.

I hope this unfortunate experience does not prevent you from returning to our property in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whale Beach
3.8 mi away
Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
6.6 mi away
NRMA Sydney Lakeside Holiday Park
12.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen
5.5 mi away
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Barrenjoey House
Barrenjoey House
#2 of 2 in Palm Beach
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jonah's, Whale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonah's, Whale Beach

Address: 69 Bynya Rd, Whale Beach, Pittwater, New South Wales 2108, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Pittwater > Whale Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whale Beach
Price Range: $424 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jonah's, Whale Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jonah’s Whale Beach is one of Australia’s most luxurious ocean retreats and the only Relais & Chateaux hotel in Sydney - the most prestigious hotel association in the world.The perfect beachside escape, Jonah’s offers an acclaimed restaurant, seven luxurious rooms, a penthouse and 'Jonah's Private', a secluded residence containing three stunning rooms. Luxurious and discreet, Jonah’s prides itself on its friendly and casual atmosphere and outstanding first class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jonah's, Whale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonah`s, Whale Beach Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing