We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine new clothes the emperor has!”
Review of The Village Tavern

The Village Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
kennebunk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fine new clothes the emperor has!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Tried it twice. Both times food was unnecessarily complicated, yet poorly prepared. Staff were all arrogant -- question them about anything and they'll explain to you how you're wrong and they're absolutely correct about everything.
Seafood bisque was brown and nasty-looking and reeked of truffle oil, despite asking for it on the side -- waiter's response: only a little was on it, and here's a (nasty, stinking) dish of it so you'll know what it smells and tastes like ("you ignoramus" implied!) He couldn't bring an unsullied bowl of the bisque?!
Lobster risotto was tasty, but a HUGE portion for an appetizer -- couldn't finish it even as an entree. Disappointing to find two lovely claws buried beneath the mountain of rice at the point I really couldn't eat more! What was the garnish doing underneath? Hostess said lobster parts were mixed throughout, as if I somehow couldn't see that only small shreds were mixed in, with the only solid pieces being those 2 hidden claws.
"Grilled" romaine might have been quickly waved somewhere near a grill, but it was cold and crunchy with a skimpy bit of bland dressing -- glad we decided to share just one portion...
$25 "special" prime rib ordered rare was grilled on both sides of the slice (why? wasn't it already cooked by roasting?), so it ended up medium rather than rare.
Potato pancakes were recommended by someone who'd been there before, but they turned out to be potato balls, not pancakes, burnt totally black and bitter at the edges, pale and uncooked in the middle.
Inexcusably, creme brulee was icy cold in the middle, and tasted like a cornstarch pudding rather than a proper custard (whiter than a custard, too -- clearly a pudding taken from the fridge right before getting its crust).
It feels as if management is trying too hard to impress with their cleverness, not bothering to simply attend to preparing the food well. Sadly, people seem to fall for this nonsense, believing they're receiving the quality they've been told they're getting, despite the evidence of their senses.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mainekings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    64
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunk, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best restaurant and bar in town!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Looking for a great meal, reasonable prices and a touch of fine dining finesse? I am a local and a regular customer at the village tavern...it is the best restaurant in the Kennebunk region. I have not had a bad meal and their pastry chef and bartenders are great. Get there early -- long lines at dinner time! The bread is made with a longstanding recipe and it's unique and will keep you coming back!

Get the fresh relish for a burger and the brownie sundae is indescribably good. Divine...thank you for making such a lovely restaurant for the Kennebunks all year long! They have made West Kennebunk a lovely place to live!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eatwell_bemerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Really Wanted to Love it...”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I finally tried The Village Tavern after hearing such great things and reading fantastic reviews on trip advisor. Maybe I came on an "off" night. We got a table right away on a Saturday night. The restaurant was really nice inside and I loved the atmosphere. Our server was very attentive and friendly. We started with the chicken tempura which was the best thing we ordered. The batter was light and very crispy. I ordered the special of the night which was prime rib with the salt & malt vinegar fries. The prime rib was perfectly cooked but did not have any flavor. The fries were also tasteless. Our other entrée seemed very small. The salmon was slightly overcooked and there was minimal rice on the plate. In the future I would go back for drinks and appetizers at the bar which were reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 783m783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time but not the last time”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Food was excellent, service was better than good but not great. I loved the scallops wrapped in bacon, not pre done, honestly the best I've ever had. They pour a good drink. Owner is right there overseeing the kitchen

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TS_family2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next day!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Tried this restaurant on the suggestion of a relative. As visitors from out of state we are unfamiliar with many local restaurants. We tried it on a Sunday night and the food was excellent. Friendly staff at both the dining room and the bar. The food was so good we went back the next night with 2 other relatives. We braved a snow storm and icy roads to have another great meal.
On both visits the people we were with raved about the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Tavern also viewed

Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to The Village Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing