We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Village Tavern

The Village Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great dinner, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

For many years, my wife and I and my wife's parents have shared our wedding anniversaries with a dinner at a good restaurant. (We share the same date!) We've eaten at restaurants across New England. This year we had our anniversary dinner at The Village Tavern in West Kennebunk, Maine. We went on a Sunday evening in late September around 6:00 p.m. and got one of the last available tables. The dining room is welcoming. We were warmly greeted and seated, and told the name of our waiter. He brought us the menus and wine list and reminded us of the specials for the evening. (The specials are also listed on a blackboard as we entered the restaurant. Our lovely brides drink white wine so we ordered a bottle of the Esperto Pinot Grigio ($25). There are plenty of good choices for salads, appetizers, and dinner. Two of us had the spinach salad and my wife had the braised Romaine salad each with a blueberry vinaigrette - both salads were very good and both were prepared in unique ways. For dinner two of us ordered the evening's special: lamb shank with mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables; one of us had the seafood stew - including lobster - with a sweet potato tambale side dish; and one of us had the seafood linguine - including large shrimp, large scallops, and mussels - with fra diavolo sauce (I'm not a big fan of clams and asked if the dish could be served with mussels instead of clams = no problem) and the porcini mushrooms and onions side dish. (All entrees come with a side dish - and there are a variety of side dishes). We thoroughly enjoyed our entrees and side dishes. They came to the table hot; they smelled good, looked good, and, most importantly, tasted good! Prices ranged from $18 for the lamb shank special, $19 for the seafood linguine, to $21 for the seafood stew (I think this was the most expensive entree on the menu). For dessert we shared two brownies with a large scoop of home-made chocolate ice cream drizzled with chocolate sauce ($6.50). Yummy! Our waiter was pleasant, helpful, without hovering. Total for the four of us was just under $150.00 not including tip. A very fine meal and a lovely way to celebrate anniversaries! (We should mention that The Village Tavern does not take reservations so plan accordingly).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vermonters210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    61
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal Known Mostly Only By Locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

One measure of a restaurant is if it is chef owned. Another is its popularity by the locals. The Village Tavern not only measures up, but is one of the best restaurants in the Kennebunkport area. Arriving at 5:40 PM we were told there was a 45 minute wait, but it was more like 15 minutes. Based on the waves, practically everyone knew each other. Our server, Catherine, was knowledgeable about the menu and very attentive during our dinner. So on with the food

There are many interesting, perhaps unique, combinations. One starter is applewood smoked bacon wrapped scallops with herb toast, maple Dijon cream and baby greens - $15. Most entrees come with one side. My wife had broiled native haddock fillet with a maple pecan crust and basil aioli (the piece of fish was very large) - $17. I had the herb marinated & grilled beef tenderloin tips over baby spinach with natural au jus and horse radish cream - $20. Both dishes were magnificent!

As sides we had maple scented roasted sweet potato timbale; steamed broccoli with blue cheese, olive oil, green tobacco and toasted wheat germ; and shredded maple carrots with snap peas. Each was fantastic! As we had 3 sides we paid an extra $5.

With such a fantastic meal we tried a dessert. I had key lime pie with whipped cream and blueberry sorbet - not too sweet or sour, very creamy, and the blueberry sorbet pure Maine blueberry. My wife had a half serving of homemade rum and raisin ice cream (one of about 10 choices). She enjoyed this creamy, flavorful treat as the best she has had. In sum, we had two beers, our entrees, and extra side, and 1 1/2 desserts that after tax but before tip totaled $64.

This restaurant is well away from the crowds and hotels, so you may have a little trouble finding it. There is little parking, and at 7:30 the place was packed. For a reasonably priced, fine, marvelous meal you can't go wrong with the Village Tavern.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wish it was closer to home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We chose this restaurant, while on vacation in Maine, based on tripadvisor reviews and it was an excellent choice!
We were a group of 6, on Wednesday evening, and were pleasantly greeted and seated in a warm and welcoming dining room.
Menu choices were good for all, service was friendly and very efficient, and food was absolutely delicious!
We did not have difficulty finding the address as some people mentioned.
I would surely go back next time we are in Maine!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I had one more dinner in Kennebunk before heading home to Canada to prepare for fall and winter. We decided to go to the Village Tavern for our "last supper". The dinner was fabulous. It was our second visit to the restaurant and we are just as happy now as the first time. I ate the chiffonade spinach salad and the lobster rIsotto. It was fabulous. My husband had the grilled romaine salad with Maine feta and beef tenderloin tips. He loved it. We shared
a little so i can actually say that the beef was perfectly prepared and delicious. When the beef arrived, my British influenced husband asked for hot mustard. At first the staff offered Dijon mustard but we suggested asking the chef if he had powdered hot mustard on hand. He knew exactly what we were looking for and the staff presented a small dish of mixed hot mustard. The perfect addition to a fabulous meal. We will return again and again. This is the best restaurant in the area and it is reasonable!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 822SusanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant was recommended by the owner of the B&B we were staying at. Glad we had a GPS to find it but it was worth the effort. Both meals were perfect. When we return next summer this is first restaurant on our list.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Tavern also viewed

Kennebunk, Kennebunks
Kennebunk, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to The Village Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing