We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Final Curtain-We Won't Be Back”
Review of Majestic Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Regency
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Upon arrival we were a little leary of staying. The grounds and buildings were run down and non-inviting. (I will say that the pool area may have had potential). The front desk, so to speak ,was in a seperate building that offered no feeling of hospitality and a lack of information about the area. We were given a key and sent off to a rickety appearing 2 story building. The entrance to our room was from a cement floored 2nd story balcony that we reached by climbing a set of Dirty,UNEVEN(to the point of having to hold on to the rail) stairs. We were greeted by a plastic bucket full of discarded cig. butts next to our door. The room was dismal, cold and uninviting. The Final Curtain came when we found NO CURTAINS to give us privacy from the outside balcony that all guests(or whomever chose to climb the stairs) hanging from the sliding glass doors with a loose lock that I had to jiggle. Instead of curtains there were vertical slats hanging 3/4 of the way to the floor. When standing outside one had the pleasure of looking in the room even the slats were closed. We slept with a chair in front of the door!
Be CAREFUL of the telephone system also. It is not what it reads on the brochure in the room. After questioning why it was going to cost me $10.00 I was informed they had put in a "new" phone system.
We left at 7:30 in the a.m., NO ONE in the front desk building(building was locked). We followed the instructions to drop our key through the slot, left and won't be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJAZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 306 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

You get what you pay for at the Majestic Regency. After having stayed at a motel up the road at least twice a year for the past five years, we decided to try someplace else after being treated poorly over an issue re. the cost of a room.

We reserved a no smoking queen bed over the website for $49 a night and were surprised to see a sign out front advertising rooms for $39 upon arrival. We did get the room as requested and it both appeared and smelled clean. No sign of stale cigarette smoke that you sometimes get in so called non-smoking rooms. Athough the carpeting was clean and not worn, the furnishings need attention. Everthing appeared at be at least 20 to 30 years old and the mattress and box spring felt like it! There were no extra pillows or blankets. The fall night was somewhat chilly, but the heat did work.

In the morning, we woke up and were going to make in-room coffee with the coffee pot provided, but there was not coffee or cups. Evidently you have to bring your own or housekeeping failed to replenish. My wife washed her hair and was surprised to find that there was no hair dryer. Evidently you have to bring your own as well. It was then a moot point as a transformer blew and the power to the room went out. Evidently it only affected our section of the complex as rooms on the other side appeared to have power. Upon check out, no mention was made of it other than the fact that the office phone and computer was not working. I didn't ask for any compensation for the incovenience, nor was it offered!

We did head up to the breakfast room and were pleasantly surprised to find it in a very large building with plenty of tables which was a good thing as the motel was sold out for the night. It had coffee, juice, and milk along with a variety of cold cereals and various breads and bagels for toasting. It had an excellent selection of very fresh doughnuts and pasteries from a local well known doughnut shop in Wells. Those who long for healthier fair may be disappointed in that there was no fresh fruit.

My wife and I agreed that this budget motel was okay for just a couple of nights, but we are not so sure we would ever stay for a week.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

I've been going to the Majestic Regency for years. Staff is friendly and the rooms are more than adequate. We're not talking luxury but we are talking good value, clean rooms, lots of cable channels, well-maintained grounds, free continental breakfast (great apple fritters BTW), and a very good pool. We keep going back because the motel has a tennis court right next to the pool...we play tennis all day, go for a swim, and catch the trolley into town for dinner. The MR is not the newest, nor is it the most luxurious. But it has a great vibe, friendly staff, great facilities, and it's family friendly (as well as welcoming to those without families). Stay here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boston02118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

" . . . and pulled out a plumb." That's how we felt about our 2 night stay at the MR. We happened upon it after pricing other rooms a little south. Was a little skeptical at first, but front desk personnel (Jessie, I think) allayed our fears with her gregarious personality, and allowing us to look at room before booking. MR was everything we needed and more. We discovered that the trolleys make their turnaround in the horseshoe - one headed north and other headed south. It was great!!! The trolley drivers were a wealth of info as well!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Slojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Small, dirty room with so many makeshift fixes that you didn't really trust anything or want to touch anything. The bathroom was a disaster that made noises and leaked all night. Lots of cosmetic issues that made it feel even less inviting. I didn't even want to take a bath and my elderly parents felt so unsafe they barely slept. Noisy with next to no amenities--even the tiny TV was bad!

Basically a bait and switch. "Seven Acre Resort" might somehow be literally true, but it was a measly pool with a terrible breakfast and unappealing grounds. The "free wireless internet" turned out to be "only if your room is close enough to the main office". The staff person that checked us in played clueless so nothing felt like it could be dealt with, even getting another room.

We reserved online at $147 but the same room would have been available walk-in for $99 and no adjustment could be made (though the price was advertised on a billboard).

Towels smelled funny, coverlet on bed was scary. It was just horrible!

Not a bad location, but no better than a dozen others nearby. Save yourself the trouble!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chungkingxpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The room was simple, clean and roomy. We loved having a fridge, table and chairs and a coffeemaker. What little service we needed was great. We loved the grounds. The pool looked inviting, but we didn't get there. The location was excellent; between Ogunquit and Wells, but not too far from York ... and near several places to shop!

The thing we liked least was the smell of the room initially. The cleaner had a strong odor, which we did not appreciate. It was, however, a clean smell. The toasters in the eating room, were too slow!

The breakfast was fine, fresh goodies from a local place; cereal, bagels, toast and English muffins! Coffee, milk and juice!

Certainly not luxury but when looking for somethng affordable, it's great!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linbatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

My husband and I and our 3 boys needed a weekend away. We found the MR online and we're not usually too picky about things but I don't think we'd ever stay here again. We rented the 2-bedroom suite with kitchenette. $110.oo plus tax. Way too much $$ for what we got! The refrigerator was nice to have. There was food in the sink when we got there (gross!!!), the "living room" has an old couch and a tiny 19 inch t.v. not facing the couch. We had to pull the kitchen chairs over to all watch t.v. Not very "homey" or comfortable. (it was raining most of our stay). One very dim light in each room and that's it for lighting.
The bathroom is TINY! And no outlets for hair dryers, etc. No space to get ready. Shower was clean but had holes in the wall where the plumbing is connected. scary.
Walls are very thin, at night we could hear everything going on in rooms on both sides. Until late...11:00. (that's late for those of us with kids!) People out on the tennis court until very late also. Too loud to sleep. Basket ball is just a backyard hoop. Tennis was nice. picnic area is nice. Pool is ok.
Locks on doors didn't work in rooms. AC was very noisy!
Breakfast was good. Fresh fruit and/or oatmeal would make it nicer. Bagels, english muffins, toast....but if you want butter or jelly on them it's a big jar that everyone has been dipping into. Not individual packets. Pretty unsanitary. Same with sugar for coffee. yuck.
The kids had fun with all the outdoor stuff there was to do, nice grassy area where they could play catch. We didn't use the trolley but lots of people do. The office staff was pleasant and helpful.
I agree with others...the photos make it look WAY nicer than it actually is. It doesn't even look like the same place when you drive up.
We'll pay the extra $ and look for a nicer place next time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0m3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
3.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
3 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#6 of 29 in Wells
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#5 of 29 in Wells
377 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
1.6 mi away
The Beaches Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Regency

Address: 102 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-3802
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: $61 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Regency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best value on the Southern Maine Coast! Pet Friendly and Kids Sleep for Free! Five acres of summer fun right on Route One. Basketball, shuffle board, tennis, large heated pool, outdoor fire pit, and outdoor movies. Free continental breakfast with freshly-baked donuts and apple fritters from Congdon's. A short 3/4 walk to Moody Beach or take an Ogunquit or Wells trolley to beaches and other attractions. Several types of rooms and suites with kitchenettes available. Come on in for a some Irish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Majestic
Majestic Regency Motel Ogunquit
Majestic Regency Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing