We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Majestic Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Regency
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This was the third time we have stayed here, so obviously we enjoyed. Going back in two more weeks. If you are looking for a clean, safe friendly place this is where to go. It is not fancy but a home like atmosphere. a bit run down -yes- but not in a bad way and again I have always found it clean. the trolly stop is another major incentive.

Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
1  Thank Izt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 305 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2009

We decided to make a spur of the moment trip to Ogunquit for the weekend. Tried calling this place all evening/night to make a reservation over the phone but kept getting a busy signal. Made our reservations online instead and hoped that they were still in business when we got there since we couldn't get through by phone.

Upon pulling into the place I looked at my wife and said "it looks like a throwback to the 1950's...like something from Dirty Dancing". We entered the office where the owners were apologizing to an elderly couple for the condition/smell of the room they had rented them and offered them another room. We gave them our internet reservation form and something came over my wife and she asked to see the room first before we paid for it.
We had reserved the "Deluxe King Suite" because we wanted a bigger room with a couch to sit on at night while watching TV (the same room pictured on their website).

Upon entering the room we both looked at each other and just laughed. Deluxe King Suite?? I said. What a joke!! The room was very dingy and immediately gave me a dirty feeling (like it should be rented by the hour)....wallpaper was peeling off the walls, spiderwebs with live spiders in them on the ceilings, nasty bathroom, that nasty, hair standing up on the back of my neck, red velvet couch and an odor that we just could not describe. Now don't get me wrong here, we are not some snooty, highclass people; we just wanted a nice clean room for two nights, a place to sleep after being a tourist all day. Well, this was NOT the place. They hired a wonderful trick photographer to take the pictures for their website.

If you are looking for a place to crash after partying all day/night and don't care about the condition of your room, just the price, than this is the place for you. If you are looking for a room that your wife and kids won't be afraid to sleep in, then I suggest you try one of the other hotels/motels/B&B's down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magellan227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

After arriving in Ogunquit on a spur of the moment getaway, we were surprised at the high cost of hotels for a not so busy weekend. We wanted some place close to shopping and the beaches but the cost was prohibitive until we stopped at the Majestic. The staff was extremely helpful and gave us a key to one the rooms before we checked in to let us check out the room. The room was clean and perfect for what we needed. We were able to get to the shopping areas and beaches after short drives and the managers recommended a great place for dinner(chinese) that had recently opened. The free breakfast in the morning outdid most complimentary breakfasts and the baked goods were from a local business and out of this world. I am looking forward to returning and bringing the kids.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank mtaeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

When we arrived they didn't have our reservation..new computer or something. They gave us a king instead of the queen that we had reserved. Very accomodating people. Very easy to get around. Centrally located. Breakfast was excellent! Lots of choices to please everyone. Your car is parked close to your room, within view. In the room we had the air conditioner was located in the back. This was a plus at night. We found it easier to sleep, less noise. Grounds have gas grills that you can use and the pool was clean. Great value for the price! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank works22much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

We live in Nova Scotia and we travel to New England once or twice a year. We especially like the area around Wells and Ogonquit. A few years ago we stayed at the Majestic because it was inexpensive. We also discovered it was very clean and comfortable and offered a continental breakfast in a rather large common area. This was a good place to mingle and talk to other guests who were like us...average people. The staff at the Majestic are very friendly and provide a very nice, relaxed atmosphere. The owner, Liam, is a very nice man. We look forward to our trips to New England and we look forward to staying at the Majestic. There is no other place we would want to stay. Thanks Liam. Keep up the good work ! ( And, " No, Liam and I are not related and he did not pay me to write this. It's just a great place to stay." )

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank Ganongdelecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

This is a beautiful 'Mom & Pop" motel that I highly recommend for an affordable family vacation (with something for everyone). The grounds are quite lovely (which is refreshing, by comparison to some of the 'squeezed' motels we've encountered at Cape Cod and Hampton Beach, NH), and there's plenty of things for the kids to do--nice swimming pool, tennis courts, basketball course and of course the beach! Great transportation is available with the Trolley service--it'll take you to Kennebunkport shopping or to one of the 3 nearby beaches. Best of all, you don't have to worry about finding a place to park! We had a 2 bedroom suite with kitchenette that was stocked with clean cookware, dishes, utensils, stove, refrigerator. A very filling (and free!) continental breakfast was featured every morning with several varieties of cold cereal, bagels, toast, coffee, milk juice and delicious donuts. On the grounds there are also propane grills and picnic tables, so the budget minded family can save a few $$ and cook at the motel. You can also use their on site kitchen and have your own lobster bake (they have the pots and everything!). The pool is very nice and they have towels there as well as aerobics classes Mon-Wed-Fri.
The staff are friendly and very helpful. The owner is 'hands on' and you see him driving around the grounds making sure things get done all day. Sometimes at a large 'chain' hotel, you won't find the owner.
Plenty of parking available; and again, unlike Hampton Beach, you're not trying to navigate through a crammed parking lot (that doubles as the only play area for children).
The AC and TV worked; with so many things to do and see (including breathtaking scenery), I don't know why a visitor would be concerned with the size of the TV. Just grab a chair and go enjoy the beautiful beach scenery!

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank oceanlover1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Guest beware! The grounds make this property look appealing. Think twice! On arrival and unlocking door I asked my husband are you sure you want to stay here. The musty smell was a bit over powering. Room appeared okay, but smelly. Thought we would give it a try. So for two night we stayed at the hotel. Bed was uncomfortable, bottom sheet had a hole in it., on notably size, blanket was wool and very scratchy. Didn't use bedspread, it looked a bit concerning. Bathroom vanity was decomposing on the bottom. AC/heat was outdated and nosey. Decor was not appealing. Very small TV, only extras you received were bars of soap. Towels are very thin. The donuts you received in the morning were very good, from Congdon's. Do not waste you hard earned money on this place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frogynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
3.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
1.6 mi away
The Beaches Motel & Cottages
0.1 mi away
Wells-Moody Motel
Wells-Moody Motel
#1 of 2 in Moody
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Regency

Address: 102 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-3802
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: $61 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Regency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best value on the Southern Maine Coast! Pet Friendly and Kids Sleep for Free! Five acres of summer fun right on Route One. Basketball, shuffle board, tennis, large heated pool, outdoor fire pit, and outdoor movies. Free continental breakfast with freshly-baked donuts and apple fritters from Congdon's. A short 3/4 walk to Moody Beach or take an Ogunquit or Wells trolley to beaches and other attractions. Several types of rooms and suites with kitchenettes available. Come on in for a some Irish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Majestic Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Majestic
Majestic Regency Motel Ogunquit
Majestic Regency Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing