We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guests Beware!!!”
Review of Majestic Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Regency
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Guest beware! The grounds make this property look appealing. Think twice! On arrival and unlocking door I asked my husband are you sure you want to stay here. The musty smell was a bit over powering. Room appeared okay, but smelly. Thought we would give it a try. So for two night we stayed at the hotel. Bed was uncomfortable, bottom sheet had a hole in it., on notably size, blanket was wool and very scratchy. Didn't use bedspread, it looked a bit concerning. Bathroom vanity was decomposing on the bottom. AC/heat was outdated and nosey. Decor was not appealing. Very small TV, only extras you received were bars of soap. Towels are very thin. The donuts you received in the morning were very good, from Congdon's. Do not waste you hard earned money on this place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frogynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 305 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2008

We reserved for a week stay but moving out after one horrible night. The bathroom is awful. The carpet smelled bad. Uncomfortable bed. It's not worth the price they were asking for. We paid 110 for a 2 bedroom suite on a ground level. Had to fight for a refund since they didn't want to. You felt like being in a room of the past. Everything was not well kept/maintained. It was a horrible vacation. You felt like being punished to stay there for your vacations.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We spent 4 nights at the Majestic Regency in a 2 bedroom efficency . We got everything they advertised that they had. The swimming pool was great, it was always clean. They did need some new pool furniture. The breakfast room was large with plenty of tables and chairs. They always had lots of continental breakfast items. We used the barbeque grills and ate on the picnic tables. The grounds were well kept. The rooms were clean. It was very convenient for the Trolley pick-up. The staff was polite and helpful.

We would certainly stay there again.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Haretison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Room had tons of mosquitoes in it. Was woken up at 3am by one buzzing in my ear, and found about 10 more flying around. Gross! Couldn't sleep because of this, and ended up just getting out of there. HORRIBLE experience. No windows were open or anything, so I have no idea how they got in.

Bed was uncomfortable. Shower curtain moldy. Room smelled musty. No charm to the room whatsoever.

Was on lower level of one of the buildings, and when the people above me walked around, the floors creaked loudly and interrupted my sleep.

Not sure where the hotel's photos were taken, but they are not an accurate representation of the property (as others have mentioned). So disappointed by the whole experience. There looked to be a ton of other much better hotels on Route 1 - wish I stayed somewhere else where I could've at least gotten a decent night's sleep!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklehorse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed at the Majestic Regency for 2 nights. (we've stayed there in years past, too) My assessment is that it's OK but not great. To be fair, it's a lot better than some of the shabbier places in Wells which cost a small fortune. The rate was fine because it was off-
season. But during the season, it is no bargain. The owners are friendly and accommodating.

Pros: there is a separate adults-only building with King beds. These rooms are quiet.

A continental breakfast which is quite adequate Nice pool, towels available

Cons: Many lilttle annoyances which could be corrected; the sheets are not fitted and come undone as the night progresses. Quite annoying. Come on, you CAN buy fitted sheets these days!

No hook on the bathroom doors (available at any dollar store) so there is no place to put your stuff/clothes when showering.

No security chain on the doors, either. Again, owners, please go to Home Depot and buy these necessities!

The downstairs rooms have a very musty old smell. Our second morning, there was no hot water. The entire place is showing its age...needs some sprucing-up

We tried to reserve a few weekday nights for this July but the rates were out of sight for the quality of this place. Seems like most places in Southern Maine aren't aware of the price of gas and the current poor economy. They had empty rooms but were not about to give even the slightest discount. No AARP, no AAA. They have a 7-day cancellation policy which is absurd.

All in all, we would and will go back but we are not expecting luxury. I wish the out-dated hotels in Maine would set realistic prices.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crickerpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Just returned from a two night stay at The Majestic Regency. I must admit I was a little skeptical about this hotel since I had booked it before reading the reviews. I found the room to be clean and quiet. It looked like it was newly painted and had a faint smell of new carpet. All in all I enjoyed the stay. We took advantage of the trolley which stopped right in front of the hotel and found this was the easiest and cheapest way to get to the beaches and the shops. If you do choose to use the trolley I suggest you have the exact fee and make sure you get on the right trolley as they run north and south which can be a little confusing. There are also 2 different trolley lines between Wells and Ogunquit so do some research before you jump on one!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

I am not sure when these photos were taken, but this is not a true picture of the Majestic Regency we stayed in. The rooms were very dated, not especially clean, and had a musty smell. The room was actually divided into three rooms, very small rooms, two bedrooms and a "living room". The living room had a small television and a couch, not facing towards the television. The only door to the room was a sliding glass door with vertical blinds that fell apart every time you opened them. And a clear picture of the room for anyone walking by. The thing that bothered me the most was that maid service was only done if you were out of your room by 10:00 in the morning, or towels would be left at your "door". This was our vacation, I didn't think we should be punished if one morning we decided to sleep in!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reeses60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 29 in Wells
369 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 29 in Wells
885 reviews
3.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Regency

Address: 102 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-3802
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: $59 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Regency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best value on the Southern Maine Coast! Pet Friendly and Kids Sleep for Free! Five acres of summer fun right on Route One. Basketball, shuffle board, tennis, large heated pool, outdoor fire pit, and outdoor movies. Free continental breakfast with freshly-baked donuts and apple fritters from Congdon's. A short 3/4 walk to Moody Beach or take an Ogunquit or Wells trolley to beaches and other attractions. Several types of rooms and suites with kitchenettes available. Come on in for a some Irish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Majestic
Majestic Regency Motel Ogunquit
Majestic Regency Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing