We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”
Review of Majestic Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Majestic Regency
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Towels are ridiculously small, thin and threadbare. The wireless works somewhat when you are outside, and in the room every once in a while. Very frustrating. TV is small. Room is dingy. No hairdryer, bring your own
On the plus side, there is a small fridge, and a coffee maker, and although the bed is somewhat hard its fine. The A/C works well. Irritating that we paid more than what is advertised on the sign, $69 during the week and $99 weekend. However it was the least expensive I found. There are grills out there. Never tried the breakfast. Would not stay here again
But it was not horrible

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerfromallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 304 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

The owners are very lovely, and the breakfast is okay. The location is indifferent. The rooms are clean but smell slightly; the decor dates back 40 years. The wifi barely works; the televisions are smaller than most computer monitors are; the towels are very small and very thin and you should use your beach towels instead.

It's fine for what it is -- a cheap and clean place to sleep near the beach -- but don't expect anything beyond a bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a fantastic experience here! the room we stayed in was very clean and smelled very clean which was very appealing! The staff here were amazing! so helpful and will do anything for you! it is conveniently located and lots to do! the trolly's pick you up and drop you downtown Ogunquit or Wells! It's a little out dated with decor, but great prices for the area!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnairmd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The positives: For a weekend as busy as July 4th, there was not a minimum-stay requirement, thus we were able to book the one night we wanted; the outdoor pool was refreshing; the room appeared to be clean; the bed offered an extremely good night's sleep...

The negatives: The bathroom mirror left much to be desired, as it was chipped and cloudy, making it difficult to "prepare oneself" for an evening out, and is in desperate need of replacement; the metal tissue-box dispenser was rusted; the toilet seat was broken; and now the worst part ... "free" breakfast was quite scary. It was located in a VFW-like rec hall with no staff to ensure clean-up or monitoring; the doughnut (only one per person allowed) was stale (and I can't imagine someone entertaining the idea of going for a second); milk and cereal littered the countertop; there were open tubs of butter, peanut butter, and jelly; the "dining tables" appeared to be used motel desks, but at least it provided me a drawer in which to stash my stale doughnut. I could not help but think that the breakfast area would most certainly keep health inspectors in business.

Sure am glad there were a few positives!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Owlhead55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I spent an overnight here in July. Family and friends who'd previously stayed there had described it as "nice" or "not bad." Here's what we thought:

The Good:
1. Price - reasonable for peak season
2. Location - close to area beaches and within walking distance to several restaurants
3. Decent grounds - pool, tennis courts, fire pit, BBQ, picnic tables

The Bad:
Our room was dark, dingy, dated, and downright depressing. The lighting was poor, the carpet had not been vacuumed, the TV was old, and the room stunk. There was no shampoo provided and the bath towels were cheap and skimpy.

The Ugly:
1. There was a hole in the bathroom door.
2. The door knob fell off the bathroom door.
2. A bug was discovered when the bed was turned down

Thankfully we only had to be in the room for a grand total of 8.5 hours, 8 of which were spent sleeping and praying for morning. We checked out as soon as day broke. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just got home from the Majestic Regency in Wells, Maine. Our sunny yellow room with new bedspreads was clean and comfortable. The location to the beaches, restaurants and shops is great. Many times we spoke to the owners, as they made the rounds checking on the pool, the game/picnic area, working the breakfast room and the lobby. Very nice people. And the blueberry fritters from Congdon's Bakery (served at breakfast) are fantastic!! We even had steamed lobsters from Perkins Cove Lobster Pound delivered free one night......wow! It was easy to find, family friendly and just plain nice.
We found a good price on-line for our room .(cheaper rooms advertised on their sign, but I understand these ones are older and are available on-site) Our upstairs room was half-way in so the road noise wasn't noticeable either. Hope to go back again!

Room Tip: The trolley has a stop right in the parking lot. A fun, good value for trips to the beach, stores, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoriahMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had fun here.Nice clean room, staff hopeful, free breakfast was helpful.Got a nice walk on beach b4 the rain.Only bad - wi fi. I would stay here again.Hope you do too.Close to everything.Enjoy. We also asked about sign rate.The girl said you couldn't reserve at that price

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 29 in Wells
369 reviews
3.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.7 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#11 of 29 in Wells
167 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Regency

Address: 102 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: $51 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Regency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best value on the Southern Maine Coast! Pet Friendly and Kids Sleep for Free! Five acres of summer fun right on Route One. Basketball, shuffle board, tennis, large heated pool, outdoor fire pit, and outdoor movies. Free continental breakfast with freshly-baked donuts and apple fritters from Congdon's. A short 3/4 walk to Moody Beach or take an Ogunquit or Wells trolley to beaches and other attractions. Several types of rooms and suites with kitchenettes available. Come on in for a some Irish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Majestic
Majestic Regency Motel Ogunquit
Majestic Regency Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing