We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”
Review of Majestic Regency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Majestic Regency
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I spent an overnight here in July. Family and friends who'd previously stayed there had described it as "nice" or "not bad." Here's what we thought:

The Good:
1. Price - reasonable for peak season
2. Location - close to area beaches and within walking distance to several restaurants
3. Decent grounds - pool, tennis courts, fire pit, BBQ, picnic tables

The Bad:
Our room was dark, dingy, dated, and downright depressing. The lighting was poor, the carpet had not been vacuumed, the TV was old, and the room stunk. There was no shampoo provided and the bath towels were cheap and skimpy.

The Ugly:
1. There was a hole in the bathroom door.
2. The door knob fell off the bathroom door.
2. A bug was discovered when the bed was turned down

Thankfully we only had to be in the room for a grand total of 8.5 hours, 8 of which were spent sleeping and praying for morning. We checked out as soon as day broke. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    94
    57
    31
    35
See reviews for
87
103
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moriah, NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just got home from the Majestic Regency in Wells, Maine. Our sunny yellow room with new bedspreads was clean and comfortable. The location to the beaches, restaurants and shops is great. Many times we spoke to the owners, as they made the rounds checking on the pool, the game/picnic area, working the breakfast room and the lobby. Very nice people. And the blueberry fritters from Congdon's Bakery (served at breakfast) are fantastic!! We even had steamed lobsters from Perkins Cove Lobster Pound delivered free one night......wow! It was easy to find, family friendly and just plain nice.
We found a good price on-line for our room .(cheaper rooms advertised on their sign, but I understand these ones are older and are available on-site) Our upstairs room was half-way in so the road noise wasn't noticeable either. Hope to go back again!

Room Tip: The trolley has a stop right in the parking lot. A fun, good value for trips to the beach, stores, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoriahMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had fun here.Nice clean room, staff hopeful, free breakfast was helpful.Got a nice walk on beach b4 the rain.Only bad - wi fi. I would stay here again.Hope you do too.Close to everything.Enjoy. We also asked about sign rate.The girl said you couldn't reserve at that price

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We reserved online. Got to hotel to find advertised rate on street sign was 1/2 what we had paid online - no explanation or adjustment given. Advertised to have wi-fi; our room had one bar of service. We were able to get online but not able to surf or do the work we had planned, not even able to use our cell phones to make a call; again no adjustment made. The room was musty and moist. Entire bathroom was wet, especially after a shower and wouldn't dry out. Even entire rolls of toilet paper were moist and toilet paper holder was in the most ridiculous and unhygenic place ever. Continental bkfst was a joke. Definitely won't be returning.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking many, many questions before booking to assure what is advertised is what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wells hotels

Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Going here was a last minute decision, after a horrible experience at another hotel in the area. I had gone online and made a reservation for the Majestic Regency very late in the evening, when I was just looking for anywhere else to spend the night. I booked a room online at a very reasonable rate and got to the Majestic to find that the office was closed. The kind and very friendly owner/manager came out from where I assume she lives, across the parking lot from the office, and unlocked the office. She found my reservation, checked me in and was very sweet about the whole thing, even though I had basically made a reservation long after I shouldn't have been able to. I found my room to be very clean, cozy and comfortable. Definitely much better than the awful place I had been at the night before. This place seems like a good choice among the many places in the area, especially if the rates are as low as the one I got. It's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights .great location .very clean and comfortable nice size pool .people at the front desk were very nice and helpful .Breakfast was simple but good very good donuts .The trolly comes thru the hotel every hour to take you downtown and other areas .very convenient.we will be going back again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My son and I stayed here last summer and we are looking forward to retuning again this year. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. They have a great pool area and also a great BBQ and game/picnic area.. They also have a shuttle that will pick you up at the property and bring you to the beach or other attractions. Can't beat it for the money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
3.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn
Ogunquit River Inn
#6 of 28 in Wells
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
753 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
0.7 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#15 of 28 in Wells
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Regency

Property: Majestic Regency
Address: 102 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-3802
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Majestic Regency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best value on the Southern Maine Coast! Pet Friendly and Kids Sleep for Free! Five acres of summer fun right on Route One. Basketball, shuffle board, tennis, large heated pool, outdoor fire pit, and outdoor movies. Free continental breakfast with freshly-baked donuts and apple fritters from Congdon's. A short 3/4 walk to Moody Beach or take an Ogunquit or Wells trolley to beaches and other attractions. Several types of rooms and suites with kitchenettes available. Come on in for a some Irish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Majestic Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Wells
Regency Hotel Majestic
Majestic Regency Motel Ogunquit
Majestic Regency Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing