We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Stop here, slam on the brakes!!!!

What a wonderful STOP HERE, SLAM ON THE BRAKES place. First time in Maine, wandering the back roads... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2019
sarajmatulich
,
Long Beach, California
via mobile
Traveling I95? Go Here instead of Kennebunk Plaza

Spillers Farm Store is a great find for anybody who hates stopping at fast food joints and service... read more

Reviewed March 17, 2019
57rl
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
14
3
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
14
3
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza strawberries pick your own in season deli meats maine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2019 via mobile

What a wonderful STOP HERE, SLAM ON THE BRAKES place. First time in Maine, wandering the back roads and came upon Spiller’s farm store. They have everything here, from the pumpkins to a great wine find that paired well with their fresh apple cider donut holes and chocolate chip cookies. Once we left the store we walked around the property seeing beautiful fall foliage, a replica of a covered bridge and some goats and geese. It was a great stop.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank sarajmatulich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019

I've been to lots of farm stands/stores where, if you don't choose to pick your own strawberries, they're available FRESH, having been picked that morning by the store/farm personnel. I've never been to one where the 'fresh' strawberries were placed in the fridge or cooler soon after being picked so that they wouldn't 'spoil'. Once you place fresh strawberries in a fridge, they lose some of their flavor. Well, I bought some anyway, and sure enough, when I tried them later, they weren't that great -- not sweet at all, and not much flavor. Spillers should know better. (I should have known better, duh).

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank NHjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Owner at Spillers' Farm Store, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

The State of Maine Food Safety law requires strawberries picked for resale to be chilled immediately after picking. Sorry, this does not please you. We sell thousands of quarts of our fresh picked berries and thankfully most everyone is very pleased with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

Spillers Farm Store is a great find for anybody who hates stopping at fast food joints and service plazas when traveling the highway. We travel Massachusetts to Maine all the time and found this place last fall (what took so long?). It will cost you 5-10 minutes but well worth it. Jim and Jeanine have been running this store for a very long time apparently. The store has basically the essentials (including fresh veggies etc), but where they shine is the deli sandwiches. Call ahead and order! They can get backlogged so best to call ahead and order a hot or cold sandwich. Roast Beef and Turkey are home made by Jim. Anything with meats is fantastic since generally locally sourced. Meatball subs, cheesburger sub, our teenagers crave this place. Open pretty late too.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank 57rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

There when you need them with the best of what ever is in season along with staples. Why pay the middleman when you can support the farmer. Win WIN,

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2018

This is an adorable off the beaten path convenience store. It has a deli which makes sandwiches to order and a pizza section. All fresh ingredients and meats to choose from. Great place to look around and find something neat.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank capecodda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews