We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to please”
Review of Scoop Deck

Scoop Deck
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The best ice cream in Maine! A summer tradition on the Maine coastline since 1983!
South Plymouth, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Never fails to please”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We come to the southern coast of Maine every year at this time. At least three nights while staying here, you can find us at Scoop Deck. It never fails to please. Enormous portions and choices. The ice cream is great and very reasonably priced. When they mention the single scoop portion, it must be a pint or more of ice cream on top of a cone. The pumpkin ice cream is my favorite and is outstanding. It wouldn't be a trip to Maine without sampling the pumpkin ice cream. A close second is the Milky Way malted milk ice cream. This is as good or better than the ice cream made by a certain famous company in VT. It may bust your jeans but never your wallet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljc2tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    52
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scoop Deck -- A Real Treat”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This small shop has an amazing array of flavors in ice cream, frozen yogurt, and sorbet. My husband couldn't make up his mind so had to try 3 "kid-sized" scoops in a dish. Warning - the portions are extremely generous and a "kid-sized" scoop is like a regular large scoop anywhere else. But he ate it all. The people working in the shop are cheerful and friendly. How nice when going out for a great is also a wonderful experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pdruhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“So many flavors, so little time!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A great place to stop for some wonderful ice cream. Be prepared to wait if going on a Friday or Saturday night. But that's OK because you'll need the time to review their very long menu of flavors. It's very difficult to select so multiple visits are usually in order. Don't miss a stop here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scrapmomsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Iconic Ice Cream Stand”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A stop at the Scoop Deck is a must for us every summer when we return. We have been coming here for 20 years and the quality of the ice cream, variety of flavors and the courteous and caring help have remained consistent. The décor is quirky, ice cream flavors are listed on the ceiling as well as on the walls. I love the orange-pineapple, butter pecan; my husband loves the grape nut. Any flavor you get will be wonderful. The prices are so reasonable and you can get a "kiddie cone" if you are watching your weight.
The best time to go to avoid the crowd is early afternoon, after you have been to the beach - Just have dessert first, then go have dinner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank songbirdnaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Best ever!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've never seen as many flavors as they have....
We've tried many of them and have loved them all. Their scoopers are helpful and very patient with the volume of customers they have night after night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scoop Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing