We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scoop Deck

Scoop Deck
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best ice cream in Maine! A summer tradition on the Maine coastline since 1983!
New City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have been here before but we were surprised by the renovation going on. They seem to be expanding and adding parking. Great news. The sign with the over 70 flavors of ice cream is still outside. The fun thing to o is get the double kiddies scoop cone since you get to taste two flavors and still get more ice cream than a small adult cone. There Is also a 3,4,&5 kiddie scoop dish. Enjoy. The hardest part is finding the turn off Rt.1 to get here. We finally remembered it was opposites East Chinese restaurant .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suziq614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Scoop Deck, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Yes- SO MANY turns and things to look for on Rte 1- but we are on ELDRIDGE RD. Which is in fact (you're right!) across from East Restaurant (a delish Chinese restaurant!) Same location for us for 31 years! Our samplers are indeed a great way to try a few flavors- glad you've done that! We did in fact add on this Spring to give 4 more wait stations to help many more customers during our peak times- 6-10pm! We also added parking & an additional in/out door to help the flow of steady traffic! Hope to see you back again soon- remember- look for EAST! :) Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    52
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had heard that this place is very dog friendly - that they give dog specials for .75 cents, which is either ice cream or something day old. Well, we went in the pouring rain to find that dogs were only allowed outside, and they didn't have any frozen yogurt and no dog specials. Disappointing. Besides for that, the ice cream was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Scoop Deck, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are in fact dog friendly, but meaning your pup can chill with you outside while under voice control or on a leash, we are a "restaurant" even thought we are take-out so have to follow the Maine Dept. of Health rules (I know..we have dogs & would love to bring them EVERYWHERE too!) :) We do in fact have doggie ice cream dishes (typically mistakes we make that don't have any chocolate in them!) We have thought about creating a doggie sundae special for them...could be in the near future- keep an eye out! & bring Fido! :)Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
444 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Deck Deal”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming here since it opened and never had a small sized ice cream or sundae. Summers it is nuts, long lines, but worth the wait. Fall is less lines, but not smaller portions. My daughter worked here in the Summer during high school and Doug is a local guy and does a great job with the managers of the summer kids working there, it is a rite of passage. Right next store to one of New England best and cleanest campgrounds, Beach Acres, this is the place for a summer scoop. Years ago my son tried the deck deal every day, hot dog, soda and ice cream. He experienced run raisin for his first and last time, but had very flavor by the end of summer. Lunch every day at the deck. A must stop in wells!

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton Mass.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yum Yum for the Tum Tum!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Been going to Scoop Deck forever and a day. No better place to get ice cream up in Wells, Ogunquit, or York. They just pile the ice cream on. Many, Many different flavors to choose from. Of course for me, there is only chocolate chip. This is one Maine tradition that fortunately has not changed. Have had the special there too. Hotdog, drink, and a small ice cream. Good dogs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank backpackingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The most kinds of Ice cream I have EVER SEEN”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

There is nothing to dislike about this ice cream parlour the staff is super efficient and there is something for every one!

The portions are gigantic for a very reasonable price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunnysandy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scoop Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing