We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantic Motor Inn...A Disappointment”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Atlantic Motor Inn...A Disappointment”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

With the anticipation of spending a couple days on beach in Wells, ME, I became extremely disappointed in the Atlantic Motor Inn....
First: they didn't have any elevators..I wish I had known this when I made the reservation. We climbed 3 flights of stairs to get to our room that was overlooking the pool. Lugging our suitcases. The receptionist didn't offer an employee to help us with all our baggages.
Second: We had a room without a view of the ocean. It was very small and cramped. The bathroom was extremely tiny. The closet was small and the view of the ocean was peeking out of a slated window by the sink or the bathroom.
Third: We couldn't view the pool, if we opened our curtains people going by would look into our room. We had to keep the drapes closed and the lights on......
Fourth: The amenities were minimal. We had a half bottle of shampoo sitting on the back of the toilet seat when we arrived.
Fifth and final: My sister asked to have our room made up and the maid said they only make up the suites not the regular rooms. I did ask a maid to bring us clean towels. They were on our made up beds when we returned from our day in the sun.
My final final summation is if you are going to rent a room at The Atlantic Motor Inn, rent a suite. The suites are roomy with a lovely sitting area and a view of the ocean. Pay the extra dollars and enjoy the view.

Helpful?
7 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    38
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Just returned from a girlfriend weekend at the Atlantic Motor Inn. We had a wonderful experience. I loved being just steps from the sand, as well as our private balcony.

Immaculate throughout, from the rooms to the heated pool. The staff was exceptional, especially Ruby in Housekeeping. She took such good care of us.

I would recommend this hotel, without reservation, for a perfect family vacation. While the hotel does not offer a restaurant, there are plenty of great choices within walking distance. Our room offered an apartment sized refrigerator, as well as a microwave and coffee maker with coffee provided. That was perfect, as we could have breakfast on our balcony and then hit the beach; literally steps away.

Stay here -you will not be disappointed.
Sharon

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed for three nights at the Atlantic Motor Inn, at the end of July. Husband, myself, and 9 year old daughter. It was very clean, and the staff was very pleasant. The room is not fancy, but the cleanliness makes up for it.
Do your best to get a room with a balcony and ocean view, we didn't get one, but could see how nice they were.
There is plenty to do in the area, (for kids also).
It was not as close to Ogunquit as I thought it would be, although it was a quick trip down route 1. The beach was beautiful, and the sand soft. You can walk for what seems like miles up the beach, or just relax by the water.
Bring your own beach chair, and or blanket.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank anniejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2009

This hotel was fantastic. I only stayed one night but it was great, I'll defintely be heading back. The room and hotel overall is very clean. Its not like the usual outdated nasty beach motels its pretty nice. The main reason I stayed was for the balcony with the best view. Wells Beach is beautiful and I could have sat on the deck all day. Expensive, and a pain because you can not park in the lot until 12pm and there are no early check ins. Check in is 2pm. Check out is 11am, and there is not much parking in the area so it can be difficult. There are a few stores but not much around the area besides homes.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Staff very accommodating , carrying our suitcases, beach chairs, etc both to(at arrival) and from(when leaving)our room. Super clean rooms, with daily maid service, by caring personnel. Many extra in-room amenities(check them out on Atlantic Motor Inn site). We love the ocean view 24/7 from both our room and private balcony, with the beach just a flight of steps away. Many thanks from two older ladies. Booked for next year, before leaving for home.

  • Liked — Great, clean room,Ocean view 24/7; access to beach, just steps away,caring, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Although enclosed, climbing metal stairs to second and third floor rooms; no elevator
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank judnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec,Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

What we enjoyed the most when staying at the Atlantic Motor Inn is that it's literally adjacent to the beach. You go down a flight of stairs and you're there! It is one of the few motels in the Wells-Ogunquit area to enjoy such a location.

Although we didn't stay in one of their oceanfront rooms, ours had a large side window through which we could see the sea. (picture). The room was clean,quite modern, large enough, and very comfortable. We didn't use the pool area, but it was clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly, and check-in speedy.

Bottom line: Do not hesitate to stay at the Atlantic Motor Inn on your next trip to Wells/Ogunquit.

  • Liked — Location, very clean
  • Disliked — May be pricey during high season.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomj_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Our four day stay in early June was just great! The room was pleasant and clean. The best part was the oceanfront private balcony. Although the weather wasn't perfect all the time, it was a treat to sit on that balcony and watch the tide roll in and out. High tide came right up to the back of the building. It was soothing to have the sound of the waves lulling us to sleep...although it was cool at night we left the sliding glass doors open a bit just so we could hear it! The expansive beach is great for walking, and everyone had the same idea all day long when the tide was out. There is a wide assortment of restaurants along Route 1, a movie theater very close to the motel, a couple waterparks and mini-golf for the kids, and don't miss a production at the Ogunquit Playhouse!

  • Liked — private balcony
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTurquoiseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
752 reviews
2.3 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
404 reviews
1.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Motel

Property: Atlantic Oceanfront Motel
Address: 37 Atlantic Ave, Wells, ME 04090-0386
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Oceanfront Motel is a direct oceanfront motel on beautiful Wells Beach, Maine. Watch the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean without ever leaving the comfort of your bed. Enjoy spectacular ocean vistas from your own private balcony, cool-off in the outdoor pool with expansive sundeck or relax on 7-miles of sandy beach. Spacious wonderfully appointed and renovated guest rooms and suites with air-conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, balconies and more. Family-friendly, family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing