We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving get-away”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great place to have a mini-Thanksgiving away from home! Clean, well-maintained, and with a friendly and helpful staff, we couldn't have asked for more! Love the space with full kitchen and living room! The off-season deals can't be beat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunquest2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Sunquest,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your Thanksgiving visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and facebook pages for some pretty cool winter specials!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    55
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
198
121
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY NY
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

There is nothing not to love about the Elmwood! Friendly staff, clean condo living, ample parking and central location to the best of Southern Maine. The price and packages are top notch and we will be returning soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbeanie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Jbeanie,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

Keep an eye on our web site and facebook pages for some pretty cool winter specials!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Weekend get away package was a great value! Condo was extremely clean and staff very courteous. Loved having the extra space with the full kitchen and living room. Great spot to explore the coastal towns of Maine. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Cate,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Elmwood Resort Hotel is so much better than a motel. It is so homelike with a living room, full bath, full size appliances in the kitchen and a private bedroom too. It is so much nicer to be able to watch a large flat screen tv in the living room rather than sitting on a bed in a tightly packed motel room. The price was more than reasonable and having a Keurig coffee maker was a nice touch. Although a walk across the road to Dunkin Donuts was convenient.
My wife and I were in a first floor one bedroom apartment and while we did hear people walking up and down the stairs outside our door, it was not unreasonable to expect that others would be staying at the Elmwood. The furniture in our apartment was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. We found everything up to date and clean. Great towels, and helpful people at the office. We will definitely stay there again if we are in the Wells area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjay413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Rjay,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was so nice on the outside, a big place. And very reasonable. They assigned us a room and when we walked in, it was a like an apartment! Full living room, dining area and kitchen and bedroom and bath. Very cozy and nice, we loved it. We did kinda miss the breakfasts that a lot of hotels give now, but it was so reasonable that made up for it. Anyway, we found Congdon's Doughnuts and Restaurant as we left the property, in Well, Maine. You need to go there too!

Room Tip: Higher floors eliminate any folks walking above you and we always take a noise machine with us in ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Sherd,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

Congdons is one of our favorites as well!!

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel once again!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Ended up booking a one-bedroom at the Elmwood due to the reviews on here. Unfortunately, we didn't find out until we arrived that all of the one-bedroom rooms are on the first level. What does this mean? Well, if you enjoy hearing people walking (and stomping and running) overhead at all hours of the night, then this is the place for you! In addition to that, you'll enjoy dingy and dirty linoleum floors in the kitchen and bath areas. And did I mention the old decor and furniture? I get that this is Maine. I've been coming to Wells for the past 40 years. But the place just feels skeevy and outdated. To summarize, the stay was far from enjoyable. The only nice thing was that the indoor pool was usually free for swimming laps. Also, if you hate your accommodations, there's no way to leave early. They'll just offer you an equally unimpressive room. We tried leaving on night #2 of a 5-night reservation and were told no - unless we wanted to pay for the remaining nights of the reservation. So... if you enjoy thin ceilings and people walking overhead, along with outdated furniture and decor, then make your reservation TODAY for the Elmwood (cough, cough) Resort Hotel! You'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in a bottom floor room! You'll regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guests,

Over the years we have received many excellent reviews from our guests as well as some responses that have provided constructive criticism. I’d like to thank all of our guests for providing their feedback. We take great pride in our accommodations and level of customer service and take seriously any suggestions you might make.

Based upon your recommendations we have made a number of improvements to the property including upgrades to the décor of our guest rooms, installation of flat screen televisions throughout the property, installation of new mattresses & bedding, and many more. We have also tried to think outside the box to provide new and innovative amenities to our guests, including an outdoor movie theater, a fantastic gas fire pit and live entertainment.

I’d like to take a moment to quote two great Americans. First, it was President Lincoln that once said “you can never please all of the people all of the time.” While this may be true, we strive on a daily basis to prove the opposite.

It is disheartening to read a review such as the one provided by “JimmyTrip.” His negative and hurtful characterization does not accurately describe the Elmwood Resort. It is of note to us that “JimmyTrip” has graced only two other establishments on Tripavisor with reviews, not surprisingly both of those evaluations were also extremely negative.

The Elmwood is not a corporate giant; we are a small family hotel. While we endeavor to provide excellent accommodations we are not always perfect, but we do our best. If there is a shortcoming with our accommodations all that we ask is to be informed of the issue in order that it can be solved. We are proud to have a fantastic staff, including the members of our front desk crew, housekeepers, and maintenance department, who go all-out to make the Elmwood a great place to visit.

The second great American that comes to mind after readying “JimmyTrip’s” review is Charlie Brown of the Peanuts Gang who famously said “Good Grief”. "Good Grief" JimmyTrip, "Good Grief".

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a great weekend in Maine. It started out with our stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel. We called a couple weeks ago for reservation to find out they had just started running a special. Stay 2 nights and 3rd night is free or you can have late check out. We stayed the extra night. The room was clean, beautiful and very comfortable. I had mentioned it was our anniversary and while we were out and about the next day the Cleaning lady made us a nice towel sculpture of swans with a note wishing us a Very Happy Anniversary. Everone was great from checkin - cleaning staff and checkout. Can't wait until our next trip to Maine and Stay at the Elmwood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUZANNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Suzanne,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your Anniversary visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel once again!

I appreciate your mention of the towel sculptures! Our housekeepers take a lot of pride in them!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
756 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,018 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Resort Hotel

Property: Elmwood Resort Hotel
Address: 1351 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wells
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Resort is centrally located on Maine's beautiful southern coast, a short distance to the Kennebunks and Ogunquit and just minutes from miles of sandy beaches, fine restaurants, shops and all the attractions the picturesque area has to present. Ideal for the family needing more than just a hotel room or for the couple seeking extra luxury, our comfortable and affordable one, two, or three bedroom suites offer the ultimate in space and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Elmwood Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Resort Hotel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing