We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and attractive, nice outdoor pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and attractive, nice outdoor pool”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at this resort in June 2012. There were 10 of us total (mostly kids). We had the two bedroom condo on the top floor, end unit next to the playground. The condo was nice enough for us and clean though nothing spectacular. It was nice to be on an end unit and have some privacy on our deck with no one walking past and we enjoyed sitting out there. We could see right down to the playground where the kids would go play, which was really convenient. The weather was beautiful when we visited, so we LOVED the outdoor pool!! It's a good size and kept up well. Looks appealing with the white fence and lights around it. The grounds were also kept very nicely. The staff was helpful and kind.

The part of this resort that could use improvement is the indoor pool room. The pool is quite large, but the whole room is dated and kind of dark and depressing. Since the weather was so beautiful we used the outdoor pool for the most part, but I would not stay here in the winter because I didn't care for the indoor pool. Besides that, I enjoy a whirlpool with an indoor pool and there was none, though there was a sauna.

I would stay here again for a summer trip. Even though it was nice to be near the playground, we were the furthest from the pool, so next time I would probably try to get closer to the pool, since my kids are like fish and spend most of their time in the water.

If you like donuts, do not miss Congdon's Donuts just up the road. It is a very popular place. I love the donuts. Dunkins can't compare.

Room Tip: A room near the pool is nice if you have kids that like to swim a lot. The end units are nice too w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I'd like you to know that during the past six weeks we have undertaken a major renovation of our indoor pool area. We invite you to come up and check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    55
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
194
120
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We normally stay at another location but decided to stay here because hot tub at other location was being renovated. However, the hot tub we were expecting (told it was for 6 but would seat 4 comfortably) turned out to be an indoor jetted bath tub that would only seat 2 at most. The beds were all hard as rocks. Kitchen table was very small. Although we had a 3 bedroom condo, we would have been very crowded with 3 couples because the living area was very small with inadequate seating. No tv in small living area on second floor. Place was very clean, staff extremely nice, but we were overall disappointed. The wifi was terrible and we had to use our hotspot for Internet most of the time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingskid111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to the Elmwood Resort. I will speak to our staff regarding their description of the Jacuzzi in our three bedroom suite. To be clear, it is not a hot tub, but it is a four person whirlpool bath.

The suite is a condominium unit, not a house, and as such has apartment sized furniture. However, the kitchen table does have seating for six and the living room has a sofa, love seat and a recliner. There is also a sitting area adjacent to the Jacuzzi with an additional sofa & love seat. Last week we were able to install new Serta mattresses in the unit.

We have a comprehensive WIFI system here at the Elmwood, with antennas on either side of the unit. In the future if there is an issue with the coverage please let our front desk staff know of the matter and we will immediately address it with customer support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here last summer and just recently booked here for this coming July. Can't wait to go back. Great location. Easy, quick trip to the beaches. Kids loved going in the pool after a day at the beach. Wonderful, friendly staff. Spotlessly clean room and great size for our family. We book a queen size room with a pull out couch in living room and it's fine for our family with three young kids. It's like having a small apartment--much better than just a regular hotel room. Great price. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Emily,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I have gone to the Elmwood several times off-season, taking advantage of the mid-week special. If you book a condo for two nights and stay mid-week, you get a free night and $20 discount. This year we're going April 2 through 4. One breakfast and one dinner gift certificate are included. Just down the road from the "famous" Maine Diner - great breakfasts but usually crowded-worth the wait. Location is great - near Kennebunk and Kennebunkport in one direction and Ogunquit in the other. Dunkin Donuts right across the street. Condos are clean and spacious. I highly recommend the Elmwood (and I'm fussy)!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulu_mount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Lulu,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Many year's ago my husband's family started staying at the Elmwood for Prelude weekend, and we loved it then, but hadn't been back in a while, so we came to Wells and Kennebunkport for New Years Eve and stayed at the Elmwood Resort, it was very clean and cozy. We will be back again for Prelude. We had a good size 2 bedroom suite. Very comfortable, large TVs in living room and bedrooms and plenty of towels and toiletries. We look forward to coming back for Prelude and we definitely will stay at the Elmwood!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Lisa,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, Québec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent 4 marvelous days at this place. It was not our first time there, maybe 6th or 7th time. We travel often off season, and each time we come back there for the same reasons: warmth of the employees, cleanlyness of the place, space in the condo. And there is a heated interior pool (specialy interesting during the off season), a sauna and access to a fitness club. And only a few minutes from the sea. Very warm place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Jean,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Burke
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my 4th stay here. It is a great place for the group of old friends I get together with for weekends. It is centrally located for shopping in both Portland or down in Kittery at the outlets. There are plenty of restaurants within quick driving distance. Bonus, there is a Dunkin Donuts right across the street! We love the fact we have plenty of space to just kick back and relax. The staff is very friendly and we've always been happy with the quality and cleaniness of the condo. I've only stayed in the off-season and during those periods, the rates are great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Kjd,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

I'm sure you'll be happy to know that since your visit we have replaced the mattresses in our units!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#4 of 28 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.7 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Resort Hotel

Property: Elmwood Resort Hotel
Address: 1351 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wells
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Resort is centrally located on Maine's beautiful southern coast, a short distance to the Kennebunks and Ogunquit and just minutes from miles of sandy beaches, fine restaurants, shops and all the attractions the picturesque area has to present. Ideal for the family needing more than just a hotel room or for the couple seeking extra luxury, our comfortable and affordable one, two, or three bedroom suites offer the ultimate in space and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Elmwood Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Resort Hotel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing