We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay for a Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshires
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay for a Vacation!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We normally stay on the beach but our last minute plans brought me to Elmwood...
This "hotel" is actually a condo set up with individual owners basically renting out their units. This makes for a very personal setting and feeling. Our one bedroom suite had a living room, kitchen, bath and bedroom. Very nice set up. It was stocked with dishes, silverware and the like. The only way we figured out it was a condo was the note about making sure that if you visit another room, please bring the dishes back to your room.
The front desk was very nice and gave recommendations for restaurants and things to do.
The indoor and outdoor pools were available (although we didn't use them). just a short trip (2 miles) to the beach. Perfect location for trips to Kennebunkport and Ogunquit.
Well appointed hotel room and close to lots of activities and dinner options!

Room Tip: We had a room facting the rear and it was very quiet. However, all of the rooms are equally quiet f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingRhiannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
TravelingRhiannan,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    55
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
198
121
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed there the end of June. It was so beautiful and the staff are so friendly! Made me feel that they've met us before! I recommend anyone to stay there. I did not want to leave! Perfect location if you want to go to Ogunquit and Kennebunkport! The pools both outside and inside were so clean as well as the condo! Never have I ever been in such a beautiful, cozy resort. I must say, that I was worried because it sounded to good to be true when I made our reservations, but when we arrived there, I knew when we went into the office that we were going to be happy and we were! We will be back again and stay at the Elmwood Resort again and again!

Room Tip: Stay in room 101! Big screen TV in the living room, and decorated so beautiful! Plus, you have a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 400Cathy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Irwin,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I just stayed at the Elmwood for a long weekend in mid-July and had no issues with my accommodations. This was not my first time at this facility, as over the past decade my family and I have made numerous trips to Wells and the Ogunquit & Kennebunkport area, staying at numerous hotels in the region. The Elmwood has consistently met our needs and I would not hesitate to recommend the Elmwood for all types of travelers.

I tagged along with my family on this trip, my mother and father as well as my younger brother, and we stayed in a 2 bedroom condo, with my brother sleeping on the couch in the living room area. The room was clean and fit the 4 of us well, but having more people might push it. The master bedroom was nice, and the secondary bedroom was adequate with not as nice (smaller TV) than the bigger, upstairs bedroom. Having a kitchen and entertainment area, as well as 1.5 bathrooms makes things more like home than a standard hotel room.

The overall facility is nice and well kept, and the staff were all quite pleasant. The pools are well maintained, and I was surprised for a July stay that I got both the indoor and outdoor pools to myself at points, though obviously that's not the norm in summer. As for location, I've stayed in this area dozens of times and this is perfect for trips south to Ogunquit or north to Kennebunkport. It's situated in the middle of everything, and beaches 5 minutes away. Restaurants and bars are close, and there is a Dunkin Donuts across the street or a local place next door for morning coffee, etc.

The Elmwood is a little more expensive than some lesser hotels in the area, and I have no problem paying it for the location, cleanliness, and overall attitude of the facility and the great experiences my family and I have had here over the years. I plan on returning and look forward to it.

Room Tip: I would not try to fit more than 4 people into a 2 bedroom suite, though I'm sure some might try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevDough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
KevDough,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family has been coming here for years. This was my first year staying at elmwood and I'm a picky person an it was the best place I've ever stayed. Rooms were clean everyday, an you could tell they were cleaned an not just touched up. They have one guy Carlton who is a great guy an does a good job an boy is he good with leaving surprises like towels made up like animals. The grounds were kept very clean an looking nice. Not like some want to be resort. Fridays an Saturday's they have movie night for kids an the family. They even have a sweet lady, Leeanne who makes popcorn for everyone. The pools were very clean an not cloudy an full of yucky things. Pool area was very safe for kids an had plenty of shad as well as music set real low for back ground noise. The office staff was great everyday they come out with freeze pops for everyone. They even come out twice a day and they don't just say "who would like a freeze pop?" they'll chat with you like they know you an make you feel right at home. They have grills for everyone to use an the rooms have everything you'll need for cooking an relaxing, you can even rent movies from the office. This was the best vacation I've ever had an I'm glad that I got to meet the staff an had a great place to stay...!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeepboy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Jeepboy,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place is amazing, if you plan to be in or around Wells, Maine this is the place to stay. Our room was a suite,with a large living room, kitchen/dining and bed room. The rooms were very clean, with well maintaned grounds, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a perfect place to stay and you won't be disappointed on any level. Two pools and a BBQ area that are spotless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caseyzNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Caseyz,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding up in Maine, and we brought our 3 year old son with us. It was perfect. The room as my son called it "his vacation home" was so clean and perfect. We never left the out door pool. I can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: I do no think there is a "bad" room in this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmn615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Tmn,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NH
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We are 5 adult married women who have been friends since junior high. I found this by accident and it was a gold mine. We stayed in a 2 bedroom townhouse (I understand they have a 3 bedroom also). It came to about $38 per person. We had a nice place to sit and talk, a tv in every bedroom with lots of stations. It was very quiet even though there was NO VACANCY. The beds were comfortable. Everything we needed was there. The indoor and outdoor pools were great. I can't say enough about this place. My friend just sold her Maine house and that is why we stayed here. This will now be our Maine getaway from now on. Can't wait to go back. Very nice people. Just a great experience.

Room Tip: I think any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fransonbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmwoodResort, General Manager at Elmwood Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Fransonbrit,

Thank you for your review of the Elmwood Resort Hotel.

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Wells and thank you for choosing to stay at the Elmwood Resort Hotel!

We hope to see you again soon!

Scott DeFelice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.1 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
756 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
4.9 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#11 of 36 in Ogunquit
1,016 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Resort Hotel

Property: Elmwood Resort Hotel
Address: 1351 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wells
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Resort is centrally located on Maine's beautiful southern coast, a short distance to the Kennebunks and Ogunquit and just minutes from miles of sandy beaches, fine restaurants, shops and all the attractions the picturesque area has to present. Ideal for the family needing more than just a hotel room or for the couple seeking extra luxury, our comfortable and affordable one, two, or three bedroom suites offer the ultimate in space and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Elmwood Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Resort Hotel Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing