We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great service”

Congdon's Doughnuts
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: We have a full-service dining room as well as take out area and a drive-thru. Our specialty is our homemade doughnuts like grandma used to make. We also have a wide selection of breads, pastries, muffins, mixes, and whoopie pies!!! We serve breakfast and lunch from 6am - 2pm. Open Daily in our summer season and Thursday - Sunday in the off season.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

We come here often. To me the best breakfast in Wells. Yes the donuts are big and great tasting which is what people usually rave about . Not being a big donut eater I lean more towards a traditional breakfast. My favorites are the muffin plate with a large egg sandwich and home fries or the farmers omelet special loaded with meat onion and mashed potatoes along with the homemade toast and home fries. For about 10.00 you’ll get a plate that is tough to finish. The crowds attest to the superior food! If you have never been give it a try—- if u have make a return trip. They also have a loyalty card which is worth getting

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank dad2515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian S, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018

Hi Dad2515,
Thank you for your great comments and kind words. It's terrific to hear that our delicious muffins, egg sandwich, home fries, and farmers omelet are among your favorites.We love hearing that even though you're not a doughnut guy, you still think that our doughnuts are pretty tasty too. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

The doughnuts served here are legendary for the area. It's not your trendy botique doughnut shop, but more of a classic offering that serves the flavors from your childhood with doughnuts filled with love.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank TravelingNAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian S, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Hi Nicholaus,
Our doughnuts are certainly filled with love and made fresh daily! Thank you for your great comments, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have had these donuts at the Inn that we stayed at. We decided to venture out and try some different flavors. I have to say so many different types of donuts super delicious and fresh such a popular joint. Though for six dozen donuts and a scone we paid around $16-$17. I’m not sure if the donuts are worth almost $2 each but definitely a nice treat.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank DizzieLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian S, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Hi Dizzie Lizzy,
Thank you for venturing in and trying some of our other flavors and treats. It's great to hear that everything was delicious for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

As we often do on our visits to Maine, we stopped at Congdons for a late breakfast. The food and service were excellent as usual. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank jverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian S, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Hi Jverdun,
Thank you for your recommendations and great comments! We're proud to be a staple during your visits to Maine and love hearing that our food and service are always excellent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

Congdon's is worth any amount of wait time you might have. Don't let the line deter you. Everything they make is amazing. My favorite is probably the maple squares or the blueberry scones. The doughnuts are also outstanding

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jillian S, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Hi Kate,
We're glad to hear that our delicious treats are worth the time in line. We love hearing about your favorite items and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Congdon's Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing