We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We saw the line and knew to give it a try!!Happy we did!”

Congdon's Doughnuts
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have a full-service dining room as well as take out area and a drive-thru. Our specialty is our homemade doughnuts like grandma used to make. We also have a wide selection of breads, pastries, muffins, mixes, and whoopie pies!!! We serve breakfast and lunch from 6am - 3pm. Open Thursday through Sunday weekly.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We saw the line and knew to give it a try!!Happy we did!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

On our way in to Ogunquit we passed by in the morning and saw the line out in the parking lot. The next morning we headed over for breakfast. First we waited on line but soon realized that was the takeout line and we went right in and got seated right away. Breakfast was delicious and of course we also had doughnuts and took some for the road. A good food place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    254
    84
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The food and paste ties are great. The service is kinda slow. Very busy. Not a lot of space. They have a drive up window. Lots of parking

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frederick40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Doughnuts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Had to try this spot after reading the reviews, place was good not great. Went on a Sunday morning around 8am, line was out the door. We shared 4 different donuts, all were good, really liked the cinnamon. Would go back but not go out of my way

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank brady d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Whoopie's Hands Down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stopped in for breakfast on our way back from Rockland. Little did we know that they had a restaurant attached to their bakery. We decided to have a sit down breakfast. The service was outstaning. The food was delicious, we had the omlette specials. On the way out we stopped and purchased some Whoopies. They had three sizes. They were delicious. I'm just sorry I did not purchase the donuts or any other baked goods. We will definately go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedylee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best doughnuts around !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Can't say enough about this place , ! The doughnuts are the best I've ever had, Baked fresh daily and with so many choices ! My family loves the maple frosted & filled , double chocolate, lemon , chocolate coconut and butter crunch ! You can't make a bad choice with any flavor as they all are so good! We talk about them all year long , as we can't wait to go back to Wells , Maine and get some Congdons Donuts , ! See you next year !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purpledacshund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congdon's Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Congdon's Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing