We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast!”

Congdon's Doughnuts
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have a full-service dining room as well as take out area and a drive-thru. Our specialty is our homemade doughnuts like grandma used to make. We also have a wide selection of breads, pastries, muffins, mixes, and whoopie pies!!! We serve breakfast and lunch from 6am - 3pm. Open Thursday through Sunday weekly.
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Absolutely the best breakfast my family has had in years while away from home. The selection was awesome, even my picky 9 year old son ate. The portions were great and the homemade fritter completed my breakfast and satisfied my taste buds and appetite.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,050
    254
    84
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly service, fabulous doughnuts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I brought the grandkids to Congdon's for breakfast on a busy fall morning when the place was packed and lines were three deep at the counter. That didn't matter to the helpful waitress who assisted us and let the kids take their time as they checked out the array of treats before them. I'd heard their apple fritters were fabulous, so I sampled that. The kids got large coffee rolls and a humungous whoopie pie (one of Maine's favorite desserts). We didn't even sample the breakfast items, as we crammed ourselves into the one remaining vacant booth. But why would we? We were in pastry heaven at Congdon's and will go back for more now that they are open for the busy season ahead. But be ready to wait, since the lines are long here, especially on busy summer weekend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT! AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Congdon's Doughnuts is a great place. The food is always prepared and served exactly as ordered. The servers are friendly and helpful, the breakfasts continue to be the best in the state. And the doughnut shop and bread are simply wonderful. Try those whoopie pies, they are the BEST!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELLS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You will not be sorry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

You will not be sorry if you have to wait for a table! The food is plentiful and as good as you will find anywhere. And if this isn't enough the donuts are to die for. My favorite is the cream filled maple round, oh my gosh. If you are in Wells you need to try Congdon's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GERALD J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on a plate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

When you are in the area, you MUST go to Congdon's for breakfast! The Honey Bun French Toast is the most amazing taste sensation ever! and add the bacon... thick cut, crisp, delicious! Don't miss it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congdon's Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Congdon's Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing