We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Doughnuts in Wells”

Congdon's Doughnuts
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: We have a full-service dining room as well as take out area and a drive-thru. Our specialty is our homemade doughnuts like grandma used to make. We also have a wide selection of breads, pastries, muffins, mixes, and whoopie pies!!! We serve breakfast and lunch from 6am - 3pm. Open Thursday through Sunday weekly.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Doughnuts in Wells”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a must place to go when in Wells. Yes, there is a Dunkin Donuts in town but if you want the best doughnuts go to Congdon's. The old fashioned plain is to die for. Also have any other kind of baked goods you can imagine. Huge whoopie pies. Good and fair prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    265
    85
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saturday drive :)”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I decided to take a ride on a rare Saturday that I didn't work and wound up at Congdons. We have visited before and liked the food and love the donuts! I had breakfast the daily special 'farmers omelet' with toast (they make their own bread) all was delicious. My husband decided on lunch with a turkey club and fries , fresh ingredients. I would highly recommend Congdons!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pat0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
219 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“glad we tried it!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We usually go to the Maine diner, but it was closed so we tried Congdons. It was really good! Service was great and everything we ate was tasty. I'm quite sure we will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great donuts!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We came here for breakfast on a Sunday. I enjoyed some blueberry pancakes and real maple syrup (for an extra charge). We also took 2 donuts (I recommend the Honey Dew) to go and I ate them both within less than 6 hours. I thought they tasted great - the melt in your mouth kind of donuts. Definitely worth a try.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Soliterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An institution”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spend most of the summer in Wells, and congdon's is our favorite place. Whether we go in for breakfast in the morning, or drive through on our way back home, we are never disappointed. There's a great family vibe there, always happy. Beware, weekends are always slammed, and especially in the summer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stansongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Congdon's Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing