We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great donuts and coffee”

Congdon's Doughnuts
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have a full-service dining room as well as take out area and a drive-thru. Our specialty is our homemade doughnuts like grandma used to make. We also have a wide selection of breads, pastries, muffins, mixes, and whoopie pies!!! We serve breakfast and lunch from 6am - 3pm. Open Thursday through Sunday weekly.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great donuts and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Amazing donuts in tons of different types. The place was very busy at 8:30 but lines moved quickly. The kids at the shop working are very nice and don't make you feel rushed to order... Which I love when visiting a new place. If you have a dog, make sure you buy one of their dog treats for 50 cents! Definitely plan to visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akayj424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    254
    83
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“awesome doughnuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

These doughnuts are delicious. There is a great variety to choose from blueberry, lemon and apple to crullers. The doughnuts are all freshly made and huge. This is the way doughnuts used to be made. The drive through doesn't usually have a long wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojo603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Too long of a wait for not so special donuts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Congdon's was on my list to try. We had to wait 40 min. for a table. I ordered two donuts and coffee, my husband ordered 2 eggs with hash and homefries. The waitress asked if he wanted homemade hash or regular. I'm not sure, but who would order canned hash when you could have homemade? Anyway, I thought the donuts were average. They were fresh and good, but not worth a 40min.wait. I guess I am in the minority, because the lines at the counter for takeout were long and steady. I am a longtime sweet eater, so I consider myself a little knowledgeable. I just don't get it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linlamnpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crowded But Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I suppose it's because they are so busy that their doughnuts are so good, they have to be fresh or they would run out. We purchased a variety dozen doughnut holes, they were delicious!! As a Dunkin Donuts regular they can't hold a candle to Congdon's. Will return every time we are in the area

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruins_Kill_Them_All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golden, co
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Get Your Doughnut Fix Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am not a huge doughnut fan, but this family team has the right formula.
Wide selection of choices.
I gather they are closed off-season though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rockyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doughlover, Owner at Congdon's Doughnuts, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We are actually open year round although our hours do fluctuate during the year. June, July and August we are open daily. Sept. and Oct. we are open everyday except Wednesdays. Nov. thru May we are just open Thusdays thru Sundays...always 6am to 3pm
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Congdon's Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing