We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast Ever”

Congdon's Doughnuts
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have a full-service dining room as well as take out area and a drive-thru. Our specialty is our homemade doughnuts like grandma used to make. We also have a wide selection of breads, pastries, muffins, mixes, and whoopie pies!!! We serve breakfast and lunch from 6am - 3pm. Open Thursday through Sunday weekly.
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Ever”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Congdon's has the best breakfast ever. While visiting Maine during our annual family vacation, we had breakfast at Congdon's. All 5 of us enjoyed every mouthful. They also have the largest Whoopie Pie I have ever seen. They are also a great bakery.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    258
    84
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS donuts, nice service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I couldn't make it here until late in the afternoon close to their closing time, so I called in the morning and the lady was most gracious is taking care of my order. I was so glad I made the stop...we enjoyed delicious donuts for the next couple days. They are pricier than your usual donuts, but the size and quality make up for it. They are also pretty close off of I-295, so an easy stop to get to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tigrr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown ct
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Congdon's is the best”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

One of Maine's most acclaimed family restaurants, Congdon's is an absolute gem! The service
is impeccable, but most importantly, the food- where to begin! You're greeted first by the site of
arguably the best doughnuts you will ever have! They are one of a kind. All of the doughnuts are
filled with the most delicious fillings you will ever taste. Try the raspberry, blueberry, or apple...out of this world!! Definitely get a baker's dozen to go. The dining area is always hopping but well
worth the wait. The breakfast selections are all delicious. We particularly like the Honey Bun French Toast. Its total perfection!! Couple it with a side of home fries and you get the perfect salt/sweet combination--Heaven!! Aside from all this..your coffee/tea cup will NEVER be empty.
What more could you ask for--impeccable service and delicious food!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clarence1i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delicious and unique”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

so...the line the door was about 25 minutes each day we went...but the donuts/pastries/etc were amazing, packaged well, and delivered with a smile:) I give the young staff a lot of credit... They were so quick,friendly, and willing to help. Kudos to this staff..this is a great place to go and grab things to take back to your hotel, room, or house. We enjoyed every morsel:)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favorite breakfast place”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We always visit Congdons on our vacations to Maine. The breakfast is delicious. The price is right. The people are friendly. If you like donuts this is the place for you.

We have tried many breakfast places in the area and this is the hands down winner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amotedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Congdon's Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing