We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobster Benny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congdon's Doughnuts

Congdon's Doughnuts
Ranked #3 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We have a full-service dining room as well as take out area and a drive-thru. Our specialty is our homemade doughnuts like grandma used to make. We also have a wide selection of breads, pastries, muffins, mixes, and whoopie pies!!! We serve breakfast and lunch from 6am - 3pm. Open Thursday through Sunday weekly.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lobster Benny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Besides having the best doughnuts around, the lobster benny is so delicious! Just the right amount of holladaise , perfectly pouched eggs with a hint of lemon makes this my go to breafast . We got a whoopie pie to go that fed 4 of us at was moist and creamy . I would refer anyone to Condon's for breafast or lunch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberry1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,033
    253
    83
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very fresh!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The doughnuts were very fresh and delicious. The service was great - very friendly. We tried so many of their doughnuts - apple fritter, blueberry fritter, chocolate sugar twist, honey dipped - they were all good! They are closed Mondays, so plan accordingly!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT TO MISS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Since discovering Congdon's, our trips to Maine are not complete without at least one stop for their heavenly donuts! This time, we brought back doughnuts for two other families and we all wish either that Maine was a little closer to New Jersey so we could Congdon's doughnuts more frequently or that Congdon's would open a branch in New Jersey!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Anything Fried Tastes Good...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My fiancée and I had really high hopes for this place. The food is good but doughnuts weren't much different then any other decent doughnut shop. They are very fresh and the aroma of doughnut fills the adjacent, Nautical Mile Resort parking lot. We ordered the apple fritter, classic cinnamon, honey dipped, white powdered chocolate, blueberry powdered, and an apple turnover, we wanted to give an honest opinion so sampling a few was a must. The apple fritter had no apple and no apple flavor, it was simply a large blob of fried dough with glaze on it. The honey dipped was delicious, not overly coated and simple bliss. The apple turnover had filling from a can and the dough tasted like Crisco. The white powdered chocolate was good and not overly powdered. The blueberry filled powder doughnut was fresh but the filling was canned and tasted like it. Cinnamon is one of my absolute favorite spices but the flavor was missing on their cinnamon doughnut. In fact, all I tasted was sugar and the oil from the fryer. The place is always crowded and they must be making a killing, god bless them!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My favorite breakfast restaurant in Maine. We drive over an hour just to go there for breakfast. Yummy, full platters - love the homemade corned beef hash with two over easy eggs, sausage, home fries, grilled English muffin. Just there two days ago and also got a bakers dozen of their outstanding donuts - the best I have ever had. The food always comes out quickly, but we had time to eat one of the donuts we had bought beforehand. We each chose an apple fritter and they were still warm! So soft and tasty - the best thing I have ever eaten, period! The service is always wonderful - friendly staff who make you feel like one of their own. The rest of the donuts were eaten by the end of the day, and it was only 2 of us! You must try this excellent restaurant - it is worth the drive if you are from afar. We always get there by 8 am, otherwise, depending on the day, you will wait for a table, but grab some donuts and coffee and relax - it is definitely worth the wait. We go a few times each year and always are happy we made the trip. Did I say the donuts are the best?!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erictchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congdon's Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Congdon's Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing