We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!”

Congdon's Doughnuts
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Description: We have a full-service dining room as well as take out area and a drive-thru. Our specialty is our homemade doughnuts like grandma used to make. We also have a wide selection of breads, pastries, muffins, mixes, and whoopie pies!!! We serve breakfast and lunch from 6am - 3pm. Open Thursday through Sunday weekly.
Philly Burbs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Their chocolate donuts are so good! Nice staff, great location, delicious donuts! Right up the street from our hotel, so it made our mornings a little brighter every day!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank krisptoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,090
    263
    85
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Popular breakfast spot”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want to have sit-down breakfast at Congdon's be prepared to wait for it, especially on weekends. Everyone knows their donuts are the best - they're a longstanding name in those parts. But it's worth the wait; the food is great and the servers very friendly. We plan to stop every time we're in that coastal area. Don't miss this local tradition.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must do in Well Beach”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been going to Congdons well forever. I do find the breakfast prices a little pricey but the donuts are the best we ever had. Lines are long in the summer but well worth the wait as they have more than enough staff to feed the hungry tourists.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilmaggie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast done right”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Best breakfast we had in our many trips to the Wells area. I had a huge omelette that was delicious. Bacon was thick cut as bacon should be. Service was friendly and efficient. Of course the donuts were outstanding and fresh. I recommend the apple fritter. Cannot wait to eat breakfast here again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oh their donuts...”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We like filled donuts and they are generous with the fillings. If you don't get there early they will sell out of a favorite. The sympathetic clerk suggested we call next time and have them put aside some for us. We did this and it worked.
Keep in mind they are closed on Wednesdays.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congdon's Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Congdon's Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing