We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of USA Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
USA Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My mom and I stayed at the USA Inn in Wells Maine July 9 and 10 2011. We had a very nice stay! Fern, the manager, as well as Debbie, the owner, were both extremely friendly and accomodating. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. My mom's favorite were the 2 chairs outside each room ...she loved them and said they were so comfortable as well! We do not go to Maine often but would definitely come back to the USA Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie7555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    68
    16
    4
    11
See reviews for
53
123
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We arrived here after hours, and found our room. It was clean and comfortable. The guest book said the WiFi was free and not secured. But it was secured. The office was closed. So the Internet was useless. As we paid to leave, I saw the password cleverly on a sign at the registration desk.

Overall it was a nice place, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gennaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for the nice review. The internet password is clearly posted at the entrance to each building. Sorry you missed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the USA Inn for four nights this past week based on the good reviews on this site. We were not disappointed!

We got great value: a very clean, spacious room, free in-room Wi-Fi, and a comfortable king bed (in the new building). Just a fifteen-minute walk to the beach (I walked it twice), this motel is located close to a grocery store (Hannaford), a Dollar Tree, McDonald’s, other stores, and is across the street from a miniature golf. A very short drive down the street, you have your pick of many antique stores.

The owner, Debbie, was friendly from first greeting to checkout. The sheets and bedspread were clean. The night before we had just stayed at another motel in another city where we were afraid to pull the blanket and bedspread up near our face. Not here! We knew the bedspread and blanket were clean. We wanted extra pillows and the older gentleman was happy to provide them.

The ice machine and guest laundry (we didn’t use it) are located in the main building in a breezeway.

We loved that there were many electrical outlets, that the bathroom sink was outside the bathroom, that we had our own balcony with two chairs and a little table, that we could leave the window open at night and not use the AC, and that our bathroom had a heat lamp.

Our room had a king bed, two dressers, two bedside tables, a round kitchen table, two chairs, a large TV with dozens of channels, a mini-fridge, and a microwave. All the furniture is fairly new and clean. Soap and shampoo packets are provided. There was no coffee maker but we knew that ahead of time so we brought our own water boiler.

This motel is situated on Post Road (Route 1) but traffic noise was never a problem. Convenient, fresh appearance, clean, lots of things we liked about the room and the area—all at a very good price!

Room Tip: The new building is fresh, clean, and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artistmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

The rooms are not worth the $99 rate. The mattresses are old and uncomfortable. There was food crusted on the one table in the room, not to mention that the table top was peeling off. They allow TWO plastic cups per room. Don't ask the 90-year-old couple that runs it how to gain access to the included WI-FI - they don't know the password. I've had better rooms for $49. Extremely disappointing. Lesson learned - don't be fooled be an attractive website - stop in and look at the rooms before paying your money.

Room Tip: Drive down the road to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Disappointed1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USAINN, Owner at USA Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
This guest arrived on a very rainy day. She wanted to cancel her reservation because it was raining. We advised her that she had agreed to our cancellation policy and that we would charge her for the room if she did not stay and the room was not resold. So she decided to stay.

Ten minutes after check in, she came back to the office and screamed at the front desk staff that her table was dirty and she was leaving. She was offered an upgrade to a larger room with a king, but clearly had no intention of staying, regardless. She slammed the door so hard that a couple of guests near the office area came out to see what had happened.

Our staff checked the room and found no dirt or disrepair to the table. The password is posted in the office and the room. There is no one even approaching 90 years old on our staff.

She had one great suggestion in her rant. Look at the room before paying your money. People who look at our rooms before deciding always take them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Excellent room and inexpensive too. Would definitely stay here again. Office staff very helpful and friendly. Location just up the road from Wells Beach and in good location to area restaurants and attractions. Thought the outside noise might be a problem as we were on the front of the motel, but you could barely hear it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kampinggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

USA Inn in Wells Me has clean rooms and a great location. The staff is friendly have helpful. The rates are very reasonable.We have been going there for many years and will keep going back. Off season rates are the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeddie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy, France
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Fantastic location that is very much close to the beach. I went out for short walks very often during my stay but It was never short as I spent much time taking lazy strolls. Perfect romantic location it was. Close to everything, lots of hotels and restaurants in the vicinity. In-hotel facilities were equally great. Helpful staff were ready always to help. Felt overwhelmed with much of hospitality. Rooms too were tidy and well managed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentosin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.8 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
1.2 mi away
Footbridge North Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to USA Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about USA Inn

Property: USA Inn
Address: 1017 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — USA Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your USA Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usa Hotel Wells
Usa Motel Wells
USA Inn Wells, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing