We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Joshua's

Joshua's
Ranked #1 of 68 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was so lucky to receive a gift certificate for Joshua's, and recently had an amazing meal there. The atmosphere was cozy and simple, but beautiful. The service was top notch, and the food was phenomenal!! Everything was so beautifully prepared and fresh. The gnocchi melted in our mouths, and the salmon was the best Ive tasted!! Even the cocktails were unique and wonderful. What a treat! This is certainly a restaurant that takes pride in itself. And they have so much to be proud of. We cannot wait to go back again!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillkc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    44
    16
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Orange
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Every time someone from my family goes to the area we always reminder each other well in advance to make our reservation. Food is great, a lot of home grown veggies and spices, and homemade deserts. Our waiter on the last visit was a little odd, but he was still very good. Only upset by there no kids rule, will need to find a babysitter if i plan on going back in the next years! However I respect there decision to keep the restaurant atmosphere the way they want, and will respect it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurenm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
215 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent food and service in a very cozy atmosphere. In our party of 6, 4 had the nightly special which was grilled swordfish, while I ordered the chicken stuff with Serrano ham, basil, cheese, lemon zest and one other had the roasted haddock. All of the food was excellent, not to mention the home made basket of breads that were served in advance of the meal...particularly the house-made molasses bread. Everything is house made here, including the breads and salad dressings. Give Joshua's a try, you won't be disappointed,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nucenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Treat!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Saturday night spontaneity was rewarded by a truly delicious meal, albeit in the bar, as the dining rooms were filled by folks with reservations. Our waiter was prompt, attentive, and certainly aimed to please. The molasses bread was so tasty, but not at all heavy. We shared a bowl of french onion soup, which was very light and a bit sweet with the mingling of beef broth and sherry. My husband had the salmon special of the evening, which he loved. My choice was the (very healthy portion) baked haddock with a side of mushroom risotto accompanied by roasted vegetables consisting of brussel sprouts, broccoli, carrot, cauliflower, and snow peas. We were totally sated!! We skipped dessert and coffee, instead finishing our cocktails leisurely. This is a place we'll return to again very soon!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joyce n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, less great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our third visit to Joshua's may be our last. Yes, the food was great and wonderful in all aspects, but the service was lackadaisical. Our waitress did not appear to like her job. Yes, it was mid week in the dead of winter and everyone is tired of the snow and cold, but in our previous visits to Joshua's we had found a very warm and inviting place with wonderful food. Now there is just wonderful food. No more warm and inviting. Even the bar was an unwelcoming place with a bartender who seemed annoyed we sat down for a drink.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoBostonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joshua's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing